Morning Glory Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by PAULITAZ
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Modified for our own taste by using 1c flour, 1c whole wheat flour, 1c apple sauce (instead of ½ apple butter), and added ½c unsweetened coconut. I also made two batches, one with 1c sugar and one with 1c Spenda as we wanted to see if there was a measurable difference in taste. Both batches were really marvelous! Splenda seems to really do well as a sugar substitute when baking. Took them to work thinking I would freeze any leftovers but couldn’t because there weren’t any. A huge hit in the office although next time I will NOT use muffin liners. Thanks for the delicious, low-fat, Weight Watcher friendly recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
579 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shinjuku, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
These are fantastic! Instead of grating the carrots and chopping the apple, I just ran it all through the food processor real quick. And I used unsweetened applesauce instead of apple butter--much cheaper and also better for you. Instead of making the topping of chopped nuts and wheat germ, I just added about 1/2 cup chopped nuts to the mix. I also used baking papers instead of greasing the tins. They turned out soooo good! I will make these over and over again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
498 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARIANWEN1174

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
This recipe is the best! I used 1c honey instead of the sugar, and used equal parts whole wheat flour and whole wheat pastry flour instead of the suggested amounts of flour. I also used an egg substitute instead of eggs and soymilk to make the whole thing vegan - it still tasted superb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
312 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I am not great at eating things good for me, but these were OUTSTANDING! The only changes I made to the recipe was to substitute the oil and apple butter for 1C applesauce and increase the walnuts to 1/2C. SUPER RECIPE, THANKS A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
I needed a muffin that called for a lot of fruit since I had some of everything on hand and this fit the bill. Made these yesterday and have 3 left! I used 2 overripe bananas for the apple butter and forgot the wheat germ and nuts, but they are still terrific. Kids love them and my husband ate 4 in a sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYLADY4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Bluff, Illinois, USA
Living In: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
I made these for Christmas brunch and they were a big hit. I could not find apple butter in the store, but substituted applesauce without a problem. My 2-year-old loved them. One reviewer complained that there wasn't alot of batter, but that is why I enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
We love these muffins! And who can tell they're good for you, too?! Grating the carrots takes me a while--wish I had a food processor. Hint: they freeze then toast up in the toaster oven good as new. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2001
I didn't have apple butter so I used applesauce. The muffin were still very moist and very appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
What a wonderful muffin! They smelled great baking and tasted great too. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2001
This is a fabulous recipe. Moist, very flavorful and low fat! I've made it dozens of times to rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 687) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States