Morning Glory Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Made as written Wow- I don't often think that many recipes are worthy of 5 stars because they generally require so much tweaking but this one EXACTLY as it's written is superb! I finally got around to making these last night for overnight guests to have this morning and these muffins are both beautiful and delicious. The only thing I didn't have was apple butter so used apple sauce and that worked just fine. I usually would have done all the chopping in a food processor but so glad I didn't. Grating the carrots with a box grater resulted in a dryer less pulverized chop which added to the lovely texture- I diced the apple (a mediumish apple about 5 oz) about the same size as the raisins resulting in each muffin having distinguishable apple bites- (chopping too small will cause the apple to disappear) and the apple bites were part of what I liked best. Mixing /coating the apple, carrots and raisins in the flour first helps keep all the goodies from sinking to the bottom of the muffins- don't skip this step. Hand mix only- just until moist- don't over mix and you'll have a muffin that has your family and guests begging for more! Thank you so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Just made these and eating one right now straight out of the oven - they are delish!!! Only changes I made were I left out the raisins (family doesn't like them) added 1/3 cup chopped and toasted walnuts in the batter and then to the topping (didn't have any wheat germ) added 1/4 cup quick oats, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 tbls. flour, and 2 tbls. melted butter to the chopped walnuts. I love these muffins just wish I didn't have to dirty everything in the kitchen to make them. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan2007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Didn't have a grater, so I just chopped up apples and carrots. Still turned out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Great recipe and so versatile. Didn't have apple butter so used pears instead and added some more cinnamon. Very good!!! Like dessert - they reminded me of carrot cake muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Dont change a thing. These morning starters are great way to start the day. Just grab and go
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Very good!! I used applesauce instead of applebutter and half Splenda, half sugar. Will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sandi1234
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
These muffins are delicious and moist. It is the first time I have used apple butter. They will be great for Christmas breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
These are very good. Made the applesauce substitution like everyone else. Used an extra egg in place of the whites. Used 1/2 white whole wheat flour and 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour. Cut the sugar to 3/4 cup because with all the other sweet elements, 1 1/4 cups seemed way over the top. Shredded carrots, apples and nuts in the food processor for ease. Baked 25 minutes. Came out great. I was tempted to add milk because I worried they would be dry but didn't and they're not. Plenty sweet,too. Will be great toasted too I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I had received a jar of Apple Butter from a local merchant so I made these muffins this afternoon - a perfect way to spend a rainy, windy day. I ate one while it was still warm with a little smear of cream cheese - amazing and delish!! The proof that I was right came from my son who declared his sample to be "very good!" I also messed around with the recipe. Half and half on the flour, cut back on the cinnamon and added a little ground ginger. I also went half and half on the raisins (used golden) and added the rest of the cup as craisins. I omitted the nuts and wheatgerm. I used foil cups but only had enough batter for a dozen. Will definitely re-use this recipe and perhaps substitute unsweetened apple sauce for the apple butter, as the muffins are on the sweet tasting side. I used a Honeycrisp apple so that might have added to the overall sweetness. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
These were great with a bowl of soup for lunch. I changed by using applesauce in place of apple butter. Also used a whole egg in addition to the white. I needed to add milk for moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 685) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States