Morgan's Breakfast Polenta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I was just making this for myself so I reduced it to a third of the portions, and it was delicious! Rather than the sour cream and jam I topped it with some real maple syrup. Absolutely delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I agree with other post... rather stick w grits. It was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Other than cutting the recipe in half, I made this as directed. I thought this was yummy and a nice alternative to my normal oatmeal. I did leave out the sweetened cream topping, though, as I thought it was sweet enough with the jam. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Very good! We also like it with milk and honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Blossom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Yum. Like porridge without the weird texture. Liked it. Next time will try the sweetened sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I was really hoping to love this, as we're always looking for new things to add to our breakfast choices, but it just wasn't quite what we were looking for. Maybe I've just grown up with WAY too sugar in my oatmeal (this seriously could be the case) but I would have liked this cereal to be much sweeter than it was, even with extra sugar added and the jam on top! We might try it one more time with quite a lot more sugar... which is terrible to say! - but I'm not sure. If you don't like things that are super sweet, this might be right up your alley though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I love this as a warm breakfast. I leave out the sourcream as I didn't have any the first time I made it, so now I just don't bother. I have used blueberry jam and Cherry as well. I think any jam would go great with this. PS-my 18 month old love it, too (and I skip the jam for him).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Collaroy, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
All in all, I prefer plain ole grits with stuff on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newyorkdude

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I thought this was very good. Although the texture is obviously different, to me it tasted very much like cornbread. I used honey instead of the sugar to sweeten. Nice breakfast on a cold morning. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I don't know if it's fair for me to give this any star rating at all because my dislike of this may not actually be the recipe's fault. But they require you to give it some stars now, so I guess I will rate it in the middle. I just thought it was way too sweet. Some people might like that though, and otherwise, the texture was good. You may want to lay off the additional sugar if you're concerned about it being too sweet and just get your sweetness from the jam alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Polenta

See a foolproof method for creamy, lump-free polenta.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Authentic Mexican Breakfast Tacos

Spiced chorizo and scrambled eggs make the best breakfast tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States