Morelos Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Update - still make this a couple of times a month and know it will be a hit at my SuperBowl party - thanks again for this true keeper! ... Excellent and authentic! I added a bit of cilantro and a small onion (humoring the backseat cook bf: "salsa w/o onion?!"), and it looked as good as it tasted. Next time I may use serranos, etc. to add some heat, depending on the company. Thanks very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I finally have found the best green salsa. I have tried many and they were never the ones. This is the best I have ever found. Just made it and followed the directions which rarely do, only guidlines. Did add 1/2 small onion and 1/2 bunch of cilantro. Tried it and was great, wife tried it and thought it was the bomb and couldn't stop eating it, even got a slice of bagget out and tried it on that. She said it could use a little sugar, added 1 pinch was good added 1 more pinch and it is a keeper. This will be the only salsa i make from now on. Thanks for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lomita, California, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This recipe is great for chip dipping as well as for use as a marinade. We used it to marinade chicken breasts and they turned out really juicy and flavorful. It also worked wonders on a pork loin we grilled. I'd suggest soaking the meat over night for full effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I usually make tomatillo salsa with cilantro, but used this recipe because I didn't have any... totally different flavor, I love it! Very sour and spicy! I used 5 tiny hot peppers instead of jalapenos... VERY spicy, not for the faint of heart. Great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
¡Qué Rico! I had a "cambio de galletas" (cookie exchange) this weekend and made a batch of this as a mojo to have with some chilaquiles. Lovely flavor! I have a lot left over and I am putting it on everything...my vegetables, my meats, etc. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dobbs Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This is so easy to make. Hot and spicy! I couldn't resist and added a little onion powder to the mix in the blender. Maybe it would have been milder if I had seeded my large jalapeno first. Thanks for sharing this recipe! 4.5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I love this! So simple and good. I had no cloves so I ommitted. It was still fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
yummy! I used a habanero pepper instead of jalapeno, so it was HOT. very good easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
very good salsa. I used 1 lb fresh tomatillos (6 small tomatillos), husked and rinsed, 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded, 3 cloves garlic, peeled, no cloves, dash of cumin, a pinch of rock salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste. did not need to add any chicken bouillon granules. Also, I placed all of these ingredients on a baking sheet along with half of a white onion, rough chopped, roasted them at 400 degrees for 30 minutes until they were real soft. Threw them into a blender, added a bunch of fresh local grown cilantro, pureed them, squeezed half of a lime juice and added more salt if needed. I served this with, "Carne Asada Taco," "Spanish Rice," from this site, and also with beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Added onions and cilantro. Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Almond and Parsley Salsa Verde

See how to prepare a lively, super-versatile fresh salsa.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States