Morelos Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I tried this, but compared to the canned salsa verde, which I've used to make this super fast instead of from scratch, the taste is bland and tastes like leafy vegtables. The canned has a more chili taste but both were spicy. Maybe I need to learn how to pick different fresh tomatillos, it lacked in the flavor I'm used to for salsa verde.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is spot-on! That dash of ground cloves is what sets this apart from other salsa verde. Now that fresh tomatillos are stocked in my supermarket I can stop buying the jars. Thanks Tapatia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This is awesome!!! I also added a bit of sugar...about 1.5T in all. I alos opted for only 1 jalapeno and even with that, it was plenty spicy...and we like spicy food! So quick and easy...will never buy the jarred stuff again! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This salsa is a great starting point! I made as directed and felt that a 1/2 white onion and 1/4 bunch of cilantro with a dash more of sea salt took it from good to phenomenal. I will make this regularly and can't wait for the next social event to share it. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Amazing! I love the heat, and especially love that this is a cilantro-free salsa. This will be my go-to salsa verde recipe from now on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Very good, I only had 5 tomatillos, so I cut the recipe in half and still turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Abdulhadi Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Fabuloso! Maravilloso!!! Holy smokes is this stuff GREAT! I love it! I finally found some FRESH, homegrown tomatillos in CANADA! (my local farmer's market had them!) and I could not WAIT to try this recipe! I have been to Puerto Morelos twice now (once for a cooking class there) and this can not be any more authentic! The only slight change I made was to use one jalapeno and one red serrano fresh picked from my garden! I am headed to the market this morning to get as many tomatillos as I can so I can make more and freeze for the winter! Woo-Hoo! Muchas Gracias Tapatia por sus recita!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Very good, Very easy salsa to make. I had never used tomatillos before and this recipe was very easy to use the tomatillos I received in. I used it as the sauce for chicken enchiladas and they were very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This sauce is amazing. I can't wait to try it on eggs or juevos rancheros. I think it would be a great sauce to put on chili rellenos, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenny473

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
very good salsa. I used 1 lb fresh tomatillos (6 small tomatillos), husked and rinsed, 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded, 3 cloves garlic, peeled, no cloves, dash of cumin, a pinch of rock salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste. did not need to add any chicken bouillon granules. Also, I placed all of these ingredients on a baking sheet along with half of a white onion, rough chopped, roasted them at 400 degrees for 30 minutes until they were real soft. Threw them into a blender, added a bunch of fresh local grown cilantro, pureed them, squeezed half of a lime juice and added more salt if needed. I served this with, "Carne Asada Taco," "Spanish Rice," from this site, and also with beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Almond and Parsley Salsa Verde

See how to prepare a lively, super-versatile fresh salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States