Morel Mushroom Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I could not find this specific mushroom but instead found some baby bells and another to sub. Sme for looks other for flavor. Blended half to thicken. Excellent base recipe with room to mix things up if you can't find an ingredient. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Dickerson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
The best thing about mushroom season is this soup. It's absolutely perfect exactly as written. Thanks for this simple but outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I'd rather the raw flour be cooked more like a roux. Add the flour and cook until golden with the butter, onions and shrooms, after they've been sautéed a bit, to build a better base before adding the liquids. And if you do a fine (not minced) chop on 1/2 of the mushrooms before cooking it'll remove the process of blending 1/2 of the soup later. Just add a few minutes of uncovered coking time to reduce a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Awful.It was so greasy. The butter just floated on top. It's all I could taste even after stirring it. I used baby bellas, couldn't find morels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Used Cremini mushrooms and doubled the amount. Absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by baconrogers
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
OHMY. This recipe is GREAT! Very rich, buttery, delicious. Followed recipe exactly- assumed chicken soup base was bouillon. Easy and delicious. Great way to use fresh or, I'd assume, even rehydrated morels. Would love to try again and add some wild rice...??? Maybe that would be too much. Man it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baconrogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
My husband made this with fresh picked moral mushrooms and it was amazing! I'm not even a huge fan of mushrooms (the texture mostly) and this was delicious. It's been a little while since he made it but I think he pretty much stuck to the recipe. He's also dried and frozen some of his leftover mushrooms and we're going to try this again during the winter with them. I'll update with how that turns out with dried/frozen mushrooms as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was excellent just as the recipe states. Will do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Made as directed except used the mushrooms I had on hand (so it was half baby portabella and half crimini). SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Goree Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
The morel season is just too short. This is a delicious soup. I only changed two things: I used unsalted chicken broth instead of water and soup base, and I used fresh thyme. Definitely rich, but sooo worth it. I wouldn't dream of trying to make this low fat...it's an indulgence all around, and you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Tomato Bisque with Chicken

Creamy tomato soup with roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States