Morel Mushroom Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Made as directed except used the mushrooms I had on hand (so it was half baby portabella and half crimini). SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpecialKsGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
The morel season is just too short. This is a delicious soup. I only changed two things: I used unsalted chicken broth instead of water and soup base, and I used fresh thyme. Definitely rich, but sooo worth it. I wouldn't dream of trying to make this low fat...it's an indulgence all around, and you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
My husband and I really enjoyed this soup, however I made it a little differently. Since I didn't have any heavy creamer or milk on hand, I used a can of cream of chicken soup and water (as per package directions). It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Rich..Rich..Rich!!! Good...Good...Good!!! Unhealthy...Unhealthy...Unhealthy!!! Eat sparringly...Enjoy...Remember...Don't fix again soon!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cameron, Missouri, USA
Living In: Junction City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
TO ADD COLOR AND/OR TO GARNISH: stir in peas or spinach sliced into thin strips, OR top with flat leaf parsley, grated parmesan, fresh or frozen peas, m�inced red onion, �freshly ground black pepper, and/or REDBUD FLOWERS FROM A REDBUD TREE (they are very edible..... - but you don't have to take my word for it...., check around first, you'll be glad you did...., they are so pretty!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
My husband went morel mushroom hunting this morning and brought back a nice amount. We had this soup as an accompaniment with steaks and salad. I felt like I was at a gourmet dinner! Great recipe! I left a few chunks of mushroom and used my hand held blender. That worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Yummy! I couldn't get morel mushrooms so just got button mushrooms instead. Huge disservice to the recipe, I'm sure, but it still tasted great! If using button mushrooms, I would double the amount of mushrooms next time. Thank you for a delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This bisque is fantastic! I made this for my husband and he raved about it. I followed the recipe exactly as written. For my personal preference related to texture next time I think I may puree all of the the bisque before serving, but otherwise wouldn't change a thing. Can't wait until the morels are in season again to make this wonderful bisque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScubaT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I gave this 4 stars simply because I made quite a few changes. First, I added 1/4 c of white wine to the butter/mushroom mixture while sauteeing. Second, I used 8 oz of white mushrooms and 8 oz of baby bellas. Third, I used half & half instead of cream, chicken broth instead of water and still had to add a tub of condensed stock. (I added that later, not when the recipe said to.) Probably had more to do with the broth that I was using, but it was completely bland until I did that. I also added about a tbsp of garlic powder. It turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This was out of this world good. So smoothy and velvety...the best soup you will ever put in your mouth. Just be sure you are soaking your morels in water for awhile, then pluck them out of the dirty water, spray with the vegetable sprayer, and set to soak again in clean fresh water. Repeat this 3-4 times until you are certain there isn't a bit of dirt or debris left in your morels. Some people like to use lightly salted water for this soaking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mission, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States