Morel Mushroom Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I joined just so I could rate this recipe!! It is fantastic. I was just looking for a way to use up some dried morels a friend gave me. They are avid morel hunters and brought me back a pound of them dried. I had no idea what really to do with them and this recipe was my answer, especially since I froze some of this bisque and I can eat it later! The flour is used in making a "roux" to thicken the soup some. It's not really a necessary step, unless you want it thicker. I agree with the poster of the recipe, please people, don't try to make this healthy, it's not meant to be. You could, in theory, but I wouldn't. If you love mushrooms, you will love this recipe. Make sure you salt it to taste though, too much and you'll ruin it, too little and it's bland. But everyone's tastes are different. What I found perfect for saltiness, wasn't salty enough for my dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is insanely, incredibly, ridiculously good. I've also made it other mushrooms once my morels were gone, and it tastes heavenly every time. I can't stop at just one bowl...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherish

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I did not have heavy cream so I used 1 C half and half and the rest 2% milk. I did everything else the same. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
If you don't have morels...why bother! One review used regular button mushrooms and wondered why she had to double the amount. Maybe she's never had morels. She doesn't know what she's missing!! This recipe is excellent and those of us from morel territory cherish our morel recipes. Thanks for sharing this fabulous bisque recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clgarman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ephrata, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
this was perfect as i only had about 1 lb of fresh mushrooms (morel) and this made the steak so good. was easy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This soup is very good. I held off on the salt because the chicken soup base was very salty. It turned out very well and is easy to make. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This was a great recipe, and the whole crew loved it! Make no changes, and yes, you really should make the roux (flour, butter, seasonings) as the recipe instructs, otherwise it is not bisque, it is just mushroom soup. Thank you Jennifer F!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefbaby

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I have been looking for a good recipe for creamy morel soup and this is the perfect one! I FOLLOWED DIRECTIONS as they are suggested in the recipe and it turned out beautifully! Anyway, I loved this recipe! I love hunting morels and this just gives me one more way to enjoy them! Absolutely the best cream of mushroom soup that I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This bisque recipe would probably be good with almost any edible wild mushroom. I've made a similar recipe using maitake (hen of the woods) mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fairview Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Outstanding!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kennybaba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States