Morel Mushroom Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This is very good. What is the flour for in the ingredients?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I joined just so I could rate this recipe!! It is fantastic. I was just looking for a way to use up some dried morels a friend gave me. They are avid morel hunters and brought me back a pound of them dried. I had no idea what really to do with them and this recipe was my answer, especially since I froze some of this bisque and I can eat it later! The flour is used in making a "roux" to thicken the soup some. It's not really a necessary step, unless you want it thicker. I agree with the poster of the recipe, please people, don't try to make this healthy, it's not meant to be. You could, in theory, but I wouldn't. If you love mushrooms, you will love this recipe. Make sure you salt it to taste though, too much and you'll ruin it, too little and it's bland. But everyone's tastes are different. What I found perfect for saltiness, wasn't salty enough for my dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is insanely, incredibly, ridiculously good. I've also made it other mushrooms once my morels were gone, and it tastes heavenly every time. I can't stop at just one bowl...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherish

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This bisque recipe would probably be good with almost any edible wild mushroom. I've made a similar recipe using maitake (hen of the woods) mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fairview Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I did a couple of things differently with this recipe that made this a whole lot easier, didn't affect the taste and just made more sense to me. Rather than use water and chicken soup base I just used chicken broth. I used fresh thyme rather than dried and didn't bother adding the flour - it wasn't necessary. Since my market didn't have morels, I used regular ol' mushrooms and they worked out just fine. I used twice the amount of mushrooms called for and I'm glad I did. Given the extra amount of mushrooms, and the fact there are not a lot of competing seasoning ingredients, this is a pure, robustly mushroom flavored soup. Easy to put together, ready in minutes, and can be made ahead of time. A beautiful first course for an elegant meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
If you don't have morels...why bother! One review used regular button mushrooms and wondered why she had to double the amount. Maybe she's never had morels. She doesn't know what she's missing!! This recipe is excellent and those of us from morel territory cherish our morel recipes. Thanks for sharing this fabulous bisque recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clgarman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ephrata, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I did not have heavy cream so I used 1 C half and half and the rest 2% milk. I did everything else the same. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Outstanding!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kennybaba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Very good! I couldn't find morel mushrooms, so I also just used double the amount of regular mushrooms. I added a bit of parmesan cheese to the top and it added a great taste. It's a very rich recipe and I will reserve for special occassions, but it was great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I also added fresh tyme and some rosemary- sautéed it along with the butter, onions and garlic. I always dry sauté wild mushrooms before adding them into anything also. I used wild oyster mushrooms for this soup and it also came out delicious. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States