Morel Mushroom Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
made this to go with a heirloop bean dish - great flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I am a vegetarian, so I used vegetable stock instead of chicken base. I also added a little white wine while sauteing the onions and a little rosemary with the thyme. Very good! Definitely serve with crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is the best soup ever!!! I used a mix of shitake, oyster, baby bella mushrooms and one other - I used 12 ounces and also left out the flour. It was extremely easy to make and absolutely delicious. I usually share soups with my neighbor but my husband aksed that I not share any of this one - he liked it too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I also added fresh tyme and some rosemary- sautéed it along with the butter, onions and garlic. I always dry sauté wild mushrooms before adding them into anything also. I used wild oyster mushrooms for this soup and it also came out delicious. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Very good! I couldn't find morel mushrooms, so I also just used double the amount of regular mushrooms. I added a bit of parmesan cheese to the top and it added a great taste. It's a very rich recipe and I will reserve for special occassions, but it was great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Outstanding!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kennybaba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I did not have heavy cream so I used 1 C half and half and the rest 2% milk. I did everything else the same. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
If you don't have morels...why bother! One review used regular button mushrooms and wondered why she had to double the amount. Maybe she's never had morels. She doesn't know what she's missing!! This recipe is excellent and those of us from morel territory cherish our morel recipes. Thanks for sharing this fabulous bisque recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clgarman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ephrata, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I did a couple of things differently with this recipe that made this a whole lot easier, didn't affect the taste and just made more sense to me. Rather than use water and chicken soup base I just used chicken broth. I used fresh thyme rather than dried and didn't bother adding the flour - it wasn't necessary. Since my market didn't have morels, I used regular ol' mushrooms and they worked out just fine. I used twice the amount of mushrooms called for and I'm glad I did. Given the extra amount of mushrooms, and the fact there are not a lot of competing seasoning ingredients, this is a pure, robustly mushroom flavored soup. Easy to put together, ready in minutes, and can be made ahead of time. A beautiful first course for an elegant meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This bisque recipe would probably be good with almost any edible wild mushroom. I've made a similar recipe using maitake (hen of the woods) mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Lindley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fairview Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Tomato Bisque with Chicken

Creamy tomato soup with roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States