Morel Mushroom Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
TO ADD COLOR AND/OR TO GARNISH: stir in peas or spinach sliced into thin strips, OR top with flat leaf parsley, grated parmesan, fresh or frozen peas, m�inced red onion, �freshly ground black pepper, and/or REDBUD FLOWERS FROM A REDBUD TREE (they are very edible..... - but you don't have to take my word for it...., check around first, you'll be glad you did...., they are so pretty!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
My husband went morel mushroom hunting this morning and brought back a nice amount. We had this soup as an accompaniment with steaks and salad. I felt like I was at a gourmet dinner! Great recipe! I left a few chunks of mushroom and used my hand held blender. That worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Yummy! I couldn't get morel mushrooms so just got button mushrooms instead. Huge disservice to the recipe, I'm sure, but it still tasted great! If using button mushrooms, I would double the amount of mushrooms next time. Thank you for a delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This bisque is fantastic! I made this for my husband and he raved about it. I followed the recipe exactly as written. For my personal preference related to texture next time I think I may puree all of the the bisque before serving, but otherwise wouldn't change a thing. Can't wait until the morels are in season again to make this wonderful bisque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScubaT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I gave this 4 stars simply because I made quite a few changes. First, I added 1/4 c of white wine to the butter/mushroom mixture while sauteeing. Second, I used 8 oz of white mushrooms and 8 oz of baby bellas. Third, I used half & half instead of cream, chicken broth instead of water and still had to add a tub of condensed stock. (I added that later, not when the recipe said to.) Probably had more to do with the broth that I was using, but it was completely bland until I did that. I also added about a tbsp of garlic powder. It turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This was out of this world good. So smoothy and velvety...the best soup you will ever put in your mouth. Just be sure you are soaking your morels in water for awhile, then pluck them out of the dirty water, spray with the vegetable sprayer, and set to soak again in clean fresh water. Repeat this 3-4 times until you are certain there isn't a bit of dirt or debris left in your morels. Some people like to use lightly salted water for this soaking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mission, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I reduced the pepper to 1 t. and the type to 1/4, and doubled the morels. I also reduced calories by substituting the heavy cream for half & half, and instead of water I used soy milk. I'm giving it the full 5 star rating because it was a great guideline, and am sure it was wonderful the way it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Salem, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
What a wonderful recipe! It's just not spring until the morels come out, and this past weekend we found about 7 lbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This soup is very good. I held off on the salt because the chicken soup base was very salty. It turned out very well and is easy to make. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
this was perfect as i only had about 1 lb of fresh mushrooms (morel) and this made the steak so good. was easy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Tomato Bisque with Chicken

Creamy tomato soup with roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States