Morel Mushroom Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Yummy! I couldn't get morel mushrooms so just got button mushrooms instead. Huge disservice to the recipe, I'm sure, but it still tasted great! If using button mushrooms, I would double the amount of mushrooms next time. Thank you for a delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This bisque is fantastic! I made this for my husband and he raved about it. I followed the recipe exactly as written. For my personal preference related to texture next time I think I may puree all of the the bisque before serving, but otherwise wouldn't change a thing. Can't wait until the morels are in season again to make this wonderful bisque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScubaT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I gave this 4 stars simply because I made quite a few changes. First, I added 1/4 c of white wine to the butter/mushroom mixture while sauteeing. Second, I used 8 oz of white mushrooms and 8 oz of baby bellas. Third, I used half & half instead of cream, chicken broth instead of water and still had to add a tub of condensed stock. (I added that later, not when the recipe said to.) Probably had more to do with the broth that I was using, but it was completely bland until I did that. I also added about a tbsp of garlic powder. It turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This was out of this world good. So smoothy and velvety...the best soup you will ever put in your mouth. Just be sure you are soaking your morels in water for awhile, then pluck them out of the dirty water, spray with the vegetable sprayer, and set to soak again in clean fresh water. Repeat this 3-4 times until you are certain there isn't a bit of dirt or debris left in your morels. Some people like to use lightly salted water for this soaking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mission, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I reduced the pepper to 1 t. and the type to 1/4, and doubled the morels. I also reduced calories by substituting the heavy cream for half & half, and instead of water I used soy milk. I'm giving it the full 5 star rating because it was a great guideline, and am sure it was wonderful the way it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Salem, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
What a wonderful recipe! It's just not spring until the morels come out, and this past weekend we found about 7 lbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This soup is very good. I held off on the salt because the chicken soup base was very salty. It turned out very well and is easy to make. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
this was perfect as i only had about 1 lb of fresh mushrooms (morel) and this made the steak so good. was easy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This was a great recipe, and the whole crew loved it! Make no changes, and yes, you really should make the roux (flour, butter, seasonings) as the recipe instructs, otherwise it is not bisque, it is just mushroom soup. Thank you Jennifer F!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefbaby

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I have been looking for a good recipe for creamy morel soup and this is the perfect one! I FOLLOWED DIRECTIONS as they are suggested in the recipe and it turned out beautifully! Anyway, I loved this recipe! I love hunting morels and this just gives me one more way to enjoy them! Absolutely the best cream of mushroom soup that I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States