Moravian Ginger Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
Excellent recipe. It took about 5 minutes to mix up and about 5 minutes to bake! My three year old loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
You have to chill these or they will not hold together. 4 hours minimum! 5 hours is better. Stir them up in the morning, and bake them right after dinner! Spicy, crispy, great with coffee, or hot tea and milk. For those of age, try with pumpkin ale! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clayton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2001
The dough was extremely crumbly - I couldn't get it to roll at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
All ingredients except the flour can be mixed and left in the refrigerator for 2-3 days to let the spices meld. Then add the flour. If they are to crumbly heat the dough to room temp. before rolling and this should help. Also, I use mace instead of nutmeg for a richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I baked up a batch of these and when I first tried them...I felt the molasses flavor was somewhat overpowering. However, after being stored in an air tight container for a couple days, the spice flavor comes to the fore and they taste really good. I might make the spice measurements heaping the next time I try them. I baked them up to make ice cream sandwiches to store in the freezer. I use about a fourth of a cup non fat vanilla frozen yogurt spread between two of these cookies, then wrap each one in plastic wrap and store a batch of them in a plastic freezer bag. They make a great low calorie treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Bill liked these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
These cookies taste very spicy and not sweet, and are best after a couple of days. They also look beautiful. I did roll my cutouts a little thicker so I only got 21 cookies. "Paper thin" was too hard to peel off the rolling mat. For that yield, I don't know if I would make them again, hence the 4 stars. I made these according to the recipe but mixed the dry ingredients together, and then mixed that in with a hand mixer until the dough looked crumbly. After that, I used my hands to squeeze the dough together. I don't recommend this recipe for beginners. I did chill the dough overnight. It was a little sticky to work with. Baking parchment worked well instead of greasing. The dough tastes terrible raw but is really good when baked. Kitchen smells heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States