Moonbeams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
I made this for my husband and kids. It was pretty rich and tasty. I didn't exactly find it simple though as it was sticky and a bit messy to assemble. A word of caution: you honestly do not need that much honey. Next time I would maybe do more like a half cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This is such an easy and surprisingly tasty treat! My little brother really loved rolling them in chocolate jimmies (we didn't have any coconut!) and my siblings really liked them. I do think that they are a little to sweet, however, and the dough was pretty sticky. If I make them again, I will cut the amount of honey to 1/3 cup to solve both of those problems. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2000
These are delicious! I rolled them in different things to try them out (coconut, oats, wheat germ, coarse bran, chopped almonds and sprinkles).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
These are delicious candies/cookies, but you might really want to refrigerate the dough before shaping the balls. As other reviewers already mentionned, it should be great to drizzle some melted chocolate on top of the moonbeams, or even to dip them in melted chocolate! Great way to include fiber in your peanut butter cravings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2000
My kids loved these and I dare adults to eat just one! It's a bit sticky so I added extra oats (about 1/2 cup) and kept them in the fridge. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I loved this recipe when I was in elementary school and had been looking for it for some time - thanks! We leave out the coconut flakes and fold in things like nuts, dried fruits, or chocolate chips to change up the flavor a bit. Great snack for a long trip - boosts energy without a sugar rush!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WinstonSalem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Too intensely sweet =/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
These were pretty good!Does not really have the texture of a cookie, but who cares! The only difference i made was that i added a few raisins for some chew.Honestly I didnt really think they'd taste that good so i made this test batch of 6 cookies.....mistake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
These have the taste of Zagnut candy bars, just with out the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEKAE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
I loved these!! Thanks for the recipe. It was a favorite of mine as a child, but no one remembered how to make them. My daughter and I had a great time making them. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States