Moo Goo Gai Pan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by deven
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I have been making this recipe for a while now and it is great. I just wanted to mention that the "rice wine" should NOT be rice wine vinegar. In case anyone got confused. You can also substitute sake for the rice wine. My family loves Chinese food and this is one of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This recipe is fantastic. I also use it to make Beef and Broccoli. Just substitute thinly sliced steak for the chicken; worcestershire sauce for the oyster sauce; beef broth for the chicken broth. I omit rice wine from both recipes because it is hard to find and the recipe is great without it. Thanks for posting this recipe, Deven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This was okay. I just felt there was something missing. I think it needed way more garlic. Don't think I will make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
It was very good - but I "velveted" the chicken which made it most excellent. Most Chinese restaurants use this technique for their Moo-Goo's & other meat dishes. 1 Egg white & 1 TBsp corn starch mixed into a slurry. Add meat and refrigerate 1/2 hour - then cook as instructed. This will give you the restaurant quality you want. It tenderizes the meat and gives added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This was wonderful! Very light and flavorful. The only change I made was to sub another tbs of soy for the oyster sauce. We had this with fried rice and store-bought egg rolls. Excellent! Will certainly make again. Thanks Deven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This is a great recipe... the instructions are clear and precise and the end result was very tasty. I was a little hesitant to put the garlic in the oil at that high of a temperature, but I did as the recipe instructed and all was well. I would probably only use a 1/2 can of straw mushrooms next time, as there are just a ton of those little buggers in a can. Also, I would really say that this recipe would serve more like 6, not 3 as written. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I was craving chinese and came upon this recipe. It was outstanding! It was so quick and easy. I used more broccoli than the recipe called for and added more soy sauce to taste and more broth to get the consistency I wanted. We'll make this again, and try other vegetables and meats too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G3ekGir1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This is a good recipe, but I agree with reviewer missdrea, that something seems to be missing. Chinese is my favorite cuisine and through the years I've dined in countless Chinese restaurants and this recipe is a slight notch below most. Next time I make this, I will increase the liquid mixture; the dish came out a little dry for lack of liquid. Too, the liquid mixture just didn't infuse enough flavor. More garlic, ginger, or something needs to be added for punch. I did not have rice wine, so used white wine and did not even detect it in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
3 stars because the amount of time it took me to chop everything up didn't necessarily equal a whole lot of taste, which (in my humble opinion) is something not worth making again. While this was definitely edible, it's lacking something. I doubled the garlic, and it still wasn't enough. maybe I'll come back to this in a few months when I feel like experimenting a bit. Thank you for sharing, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KariMercer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Manama, Capital, Bahrain
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
This is exactly what Moo Goo Gai Pan is supposed to taste like. It's not meant to be spicy but that's probably what's "lacking" for some of us. I didn't have water chestnuts so I peeled and sliced broccoli stems instead. That added the crunch and I did add some heat but only AFTER tasting the original recipe. I liked both so I'm happy. Thanks Deven. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States