Moo Goo Gai Pan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by deven
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I Hope that people read this review before running out and buying ingredients. NOTE: There is NO rice wine vinegar...IT IS JUST RICE WINE OR SAKE...NOT VINEGAR! I have been making this recipe for a while now and it is great. I just wanted to mention that the "rice wine" should NOT be rice wine vinegar. In case anyone got confused. You can also substitute sake for the rice wine. My family loves Chinese food and this is one of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This was okay. I just felt there was something missing. I think it needed way more garlic. Don't think I will make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This was wonderful! Very light and flavorful. The only change I made was to sub another tbs of soy for the oyster sauce. We had this with fried rice and store-bought egg rolls. Excellent! Will certainly make again. Thanks Deven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This recipe is fantastic. I also use it to make Beef and Broccoli. Just substitute thinly sliced steak for the chicken; worcestershire sauce for the oyster sauce; beef broth for the chicken broth. I omit rice wine from both recipes because it is hard to find and the recipe is great without it. Thanks for posting this recipe, Deven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This was fun to make at the start of the 2008 Summer Olympics. Easy and healthy. Served it in china dishes with chop sticks and it was an occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This is a good recipe, but I agree with reviewer missdrea, that something seems to be missing. Chinese is my favorite cuisine and through the years I've dined in countless Chinese restaurants and this recipe is a slight notch below most. Next time I make this, I will increase the liquid mixture; the dish came out a little dry for lack of liquid. Too, the liquid mixture just didn't infuse enough flavor. More garlic, ginger, or something needs to be added for punch. I did not have rice wine, so used white wine and did not even detect it in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Very good,but needed some cabbage. Soy sauce is also a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ex-Braniff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was a great recipe. I only had the straw and regular mushrooms and broccoli, no water chestnuts and no bamboo. It tasted delicious. The sauce was different from other Chinese dishes I've made because of the rice wine (sake). I'd eat this any day, very easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I was craving chinese and came upon this recipe. It was outstanding! It was so quick and easy. I used more broccoli than the recipe called for and added more soy sauce to taste and more broth to get the consistency I wanted. We'll make this again, and try other vegetables and meats too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pia Simeoni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
With us living over sea's it is hard getting good chinese food but this recipe worked. I added carrots and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chicken Katsu

A Japanese style pan-fried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States