Moo Goo Gai Pan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This recipe was delicious.... Only, not at all like the moo goo gai pan (with an almost clear sauce) I am accustomed to from any Chinese restaurant I've ever visited. My family enjoyed it. Even my very picky 6 and 3 yr-old daughters gobbled it up. I rated this with 3 stars only because it did not resemble the dish I intended to cook. But we all still liked it and will probably even make again. It's just more of a brown sauce and might be great as a start to maybe garlic chicken or almond chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bakesie
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This was the only Chinese dish I have made at home that taste closest to "real" Chinese food. I didn't use any canned vegetables (shoots, canned mushrooms and water chestnuts) and it still turned out great. I also added cornstarch to the raw seasoned chicken. I had read that in other recipes. The sauce was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Love love love this..Just to let you know that if you are not able to get rice wine you can also use Gin I did. My suggestion is smooth ambler 80 proof Gin, the way it is distilled works beautifully with ingrediants and will be sure to impress the hardest of critics with the out come of the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I have made this a few times and will make it quite a few more I'm sure. Doesn't really taste like the resturants but it has an amazing addictive flavor. I double the liquids to make sure I have extra sauce to seep into the rice. LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pagettgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was a really simple easy -to-make recipe. I will never buy this at the restaurant again! I doubled the sauce as others suggested and the result was perfect. I actually used enoki mushrooms instead of the straw mushrooms and it tasted just as fabulous . Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This turned out great! I used red wine vinegar instead of rice wine vinegar since it was I had in the pantry. Next time I will double up the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Very good dish! My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
My family loves this recipe, even the picky 12 year old. I had to substitute sliced fresh mushrooms, instead of the canned straw mushrooms (unavailable at my grocery store), and we doubled the sauce. Otherwise, delish! Thanks for sharing Deven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Delicious, but I could have done without the bamboo shoots. They add more tough crunchy/chewiness than I desire. Also, make sure that you LOVE mushrooms before making this -- I do but my wife is only so-so about them and they overpowered her. Finally, you don't need to kill yourself finding oyster sauce: just use a bit more soy sauce and add in about a tablespoon of honey (to your taste). The rice wine is pretty essential, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I had half a bag of Japanese stir fry in the freezer, so decided to fry that up, and basically follow the rest of the recipe for the chicken and sauce. I have to say I'm very impressed. When I tasted the sauce by itself I thought it wasn't going to be very good. Boy was I wrong. Thank you so much for sharing this. now I KNOW I don't need to go to a Chinese restaurant for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Chicken Lo Mein

See how to make tender chicken and mushrooms with saucy Asian-style noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States