Moo Goo Gai Pan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I liked the essence of this recipe. This was a great homemade version of Chinese takeout. I used two large chicken breasts, added some zucchini to the vegetables and quadrupled the sauce recipe because I like a lot of sauce and it seemed like I had a lot of chicken and vegetables. I added about a tablespoon of soy sauce to my sauce and then only doubled the cornstarch thickener. I forgot to start my ginger and garlic getting fragrant, but I think I preferred adding it with my chicken rather than the times I have cooked it the other way when making this recipe before. We ended up with 5+ hearty servings of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Slice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Made this as written, and it was good, but bland. Looking forward to trying it again and kicking up the flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Despite the freshly minced ginger and garlic, this was still on the bland side. It was good, but missing something. If I were to make it again, I would add low sodium soy sauce to boost the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I made this recipe as written. It is quite possibly the best moo goo gai pan recipe that I have found as this is my favorite Chinese dish when eating out. The sauce does however need to be doubled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I follow this minus the chicken. I like it with just veggies. People keep commenting that this has no flavor, yet they leave out main ingredients. Bok choy is essential to the flavor of this dish, don't leave it out. I also add about a teaspoon of oyster sauce to the sauce mixture for more depth of Asian flavor. I also use sherry, instead of white wine. With my changes it's five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Wish I could have gotten the bok choy, but it still turn out well with celery. I didn't have white wine, but Brut champagne which had lost it fizz so I used it. Very happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quinlan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Excellent! Easy to make...great way to use Bok Choy and snow peas from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I made this as written with these exceptions: I always velvet the chicken before preparing Chinese stir fry, I used bamboo shoots instead of water chestnuts, added small amount of red pepper flake. I found the dish to be bland and definitely lacked seasoning. I will make again but adjust to our liking, probably adding a few T of oyster sauce to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Good stuff. May want to double the sauce recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
It came out a little dry. I even doubled the sauce and it still wasn't as much as normal Chinese take out. Suggest at least doubling if not tripling the sauce. Suggest using a zester or something on the ginger. Tried to do it with a knife and couldn't get it fine enough. Ended up having some very gingery bites. I did the brown sauce by using soy sauce instead of the white wine, plus adding a dash of sherry. The flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States