Moo Goo Gai Pan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I made this recipe as written. It is quite possibly the best moo goo gai pan recipe that I have found as this is my favorite Chinese dish when eating out. The sauce does however need to be doubled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I follow this minus the chicken. I like it with just veggies. People keep commenting that this has no flavor, yet they leave out main ingredients. Bok choy is essential to the flavor of this dish, don't leave it out. I also add about a teaspoon of oyster sauce to the sauce mixture for more depth of Asian flavor. I also use sherry, instead of white wine. With my changes it's five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Wish I could have gotten the bok choy, but it still turn out well with celery. I didn't have white wine, but Brut champagne which had lost it fizz so I used it. Very happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quinlan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Excellent! Easy to make...great way to use Bok Choy and snow peas from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I made this as written with these exceptions: I always velvet the chicken before preparing Chinese stir fry, I used bamboo shoots instead of water chestnuts, added small amount of red pepper flake. I found the dish to be bland and definitely lacked seasoning. I will make again but adjust to our liking, probably adding a few T of oyster sauce to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Good stuff. May want to double the sauce recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
It came out a little dry. I even doubled the sauce and it still wasn't as much as normal Chinese take out. Suggest at least doubling if not tripling the sauce. Suggest using a zester or something on the ginger. Tried to do it with a knife and couldn't get it fine enough. Ended up having some very gingery bites. I did the brown sauce by using soy sauce instead of the white wine, plus adding a dash of sherry. The flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I enjoyed this but my husband wasn't fond of it. I added some baby corn and a little bit of thinly sliced carrot. Due to the increase in veggies, I quadrupled the sauce. That ratio was perfect for me. Not quite as good as take out but this is a good enough substitute that I would make it again for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This was indeed delish. I threw in a can of baby corn I had that had been in my pantry forever and added in a couple of splashes of sesame seed oil along with the vegetable oil to give it a more distinct "Asian" flavor. Will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Meadows Place, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
My husband and I both liked this recipe a lot. It's different than the spicy Chinese food we usually favor. I followed the recipe with the exception of substituting matchstick carrots for the mushrooms and a large slivered red onion for the water chestnuts. I served it on hot rice. Immediately, my older son came to join us for dinner. You may want to double up on the sauce, but I liked how it just coated the vegetables. Oh...and go heavy on the garlic and fresh ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States