Montreal Steak Seasoned Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
These are amazing! Absolutely delicious! I made these to go with bacon wrapped filet mignons for a small dinner party, and everyone loved these! I changed the serving to 10 because I planned to use 5 pounds of potatoes. I did only use 2 Tablesppons of Montreal seasoning, and that seemed like the perfect amount and I also omitted the salt. Although I did make enough for dinner, I really wish I made more so I could have leftovers, yes they are that good! I also added a small handful of snipped chives and that really added wonderful flavor. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe, this will be used often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
WOW! This may now be my new favorite way to have mashed potatoes. I must admit, I was a little scared to put the entire 2 tablespoons of steak seasoning in there, but decided to just go for it and I am sooooo glad I did! These were absolutely perfect...no changes necessary! YUM! YUM! YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I cut the recipe in half for my family and these turned out sooo yummy. They're quite rich and not for the dieter but definitely amazing on a chilly winter night. I served them with a pork roast and brocccoli/cauliflower casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I doubled this and ended up adding more butter. I didn't measure. I just added. I'm really glad I tasted the potatoes before I added more salt after I added the steak seasoning. It would have been WAY too salty if I hadn't. These potatoes are different. I'm not sure I like them alone, but they might be good with the Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy. I'll update after we have dinner and try them together. EDITED: My husband remarked on how this tasted like a steakhouse baked potato and how he loved it. Just for that, I'm making it again. Thank you for the recipe. It went well with the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Potatoes loaded with cheese and bacon is incredibly delicious so I knew this recipe was already off to a good start. It was the addition of the Montreal Steak Seasoning, however, that caught my eye and made this really interesting. Great addition, although I wasn't comfortable using the full amount called for and cut it in half - neither did I use any additional salt. Hubs and I agreed both were a good call. I added green onion which these potatoes seemed to cry out for and it added great, fresh flavor as well as color. These potatoes, alongside of "Sunday Meatloaf," also from this site, made for a perfect "comfort food" meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
WOW!!! we use Montreal Seasoning alot but NEVER thought to use it like this!! i did forget to put the bacon in but we are going to put it on top of our servings on the plate. Made these with a few other recipes from this site and my 19 year old daughter was trying to eat them all before she made her plate, hehe. Getting ready to make my plate now but these are wonderful right by themselves!!! Just give me a spoon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBROWN998

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Very Tasty Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheRedx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This was very good!! I left out the extra salt because the Montreal Steak Seasoning is plenty salty (I didn't use the full 2 Tbsps, either). I also didn't have bacon bits, but instead chopped up a few slices of Oscar Meyer precooked bacon. I will definitely be making this again, and, as naples34102 suggested, I will use either a small onion, or green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Unionville, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Yummy!!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
OH MAMA. So delish. Made a ton and had some to freeze. Were letting them cool and then my husband, and maybe me forgot to put them in the freezer. Ugh. Definitely will make these again and remember to put them away
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrwag

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States