Montreal Steak Seasoned Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Potatoes loaded with cheese and bacon is incredibly delicious so I knew this recipe was already off to a good start. It was the addition of the Montreal Steak Seasoning, however, that caught my eye and made this really interesting. Great addition, although I wasn't comfortable using the full amount called for and cut it in half - neither did I use any additional salt. Hubs and I agreed both were a good call. I added green onion which these potatoes seemed to cry out for and it added great, fresh flavor as well as color. These potatoes, alongside of "Sunday Meatloaf," also from this site, made for a perfect "comfort food" meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very good. Tastes like a loaded baked potato without the baked potato part. I kept calling them baked potatoes, actually. These are very rich, so definitely not an everyday side, but nice every once in a while. I left out the salt bc with the steak seasoning, bacon, and cheese, I figured it would be plenty salty. I am so glad I left out the salt, as it was perfect without. After eating, I glanced at the steak seasoning jar and noticed the first ingredient is salt--so test it first before adding the salt. If you think it's not salty enough, then go for it. Very filling and good with the Montreal Peppered Steak that is also on this site. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I doubled this and ended up adding more butter. I didn't measure. I just added. I'm really glad I tasted the potatoes before I added more salt after I added the steak seasoning. It would have been WAY too salty if I hadn't. These potatoes are different. I'm not sure I like them alone, but they might be good with the Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy. I'll update after we have dinner and try them together. EDITED: My husband remarked on how this tasted like a steakhouse baked potato and how he loved it. Just for that, I'm making it again. Thank you for the recipe. It went well with the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I cut the recipe in half for my family and these turned out sooo yummy. They're quite rich and not for the dieter but definitely amazing on a chilly winter night. I served them with a pork roast and brocccoli/cauliflower casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
WOW! This may now be my new favorite way to have mashed potatoes. I must admit, I was a little scared to put the entire 2 tablespoons of steak seasoning in there, but decided to just go for it and I am sooooo glad I did! These were absolutely perfect...no changes necessary! YUM! YUM! YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Bacon and cheese will add wonderful flavors to any dish. I followed the recipe only adding 1T of Montreal Steak Seasoning, instead of 2T and it turns out it added a real nice flavor to the mashed potatoes. I also left out the salt since the steak seasoning, bacon, and cheese was already salty. The mashed potatoes were rich, creamy, filling and flavorful! I served this as a side dish with, “Sunday Meat Loaf,” and “Creamy Mushroom Peas,” also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Great! Jammed packed with flavor. Took the advice of other reviews and cut the amount of Montreal Steak seasoning in half and omitted the salt. I added 1/2 tsp. of minced garlic to the potatoes when they were boiling and also put 1/2 tsp of minced garlic in the potatoe when they were mashed. Added a bit more bacon and chopped green onions. The green onion gave it a very nice crunch. Excellent way to serve mashed potatoes. This is a must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momof3
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
These are good but make sure you taste as you go, it would have been much too salty otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I made this with 5 lbs of potatoes. Don't double the Montreal seasoning if you are doing this or it will be too salty! Great flavor, not overly rich tasting. Love the peels left on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GospelSingerGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Very good. I did lighten this up a bit by using FF cream cheese and 2% cheddar (in place of the colby). I also cut back the amount of montreal steak seasoning to 1 T. This makes 6 BIG servings. My only complaint is that the dish was too dry with only 1/4 c. milk, but that is easily remedied. This will be a repeat in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States