Montreal Steak Seasoned Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Best mashed potatoes EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I used Bob Evans mashed potatoes and made THE BEST loaded mashed EVER. I feel conflicted about reviewing this recipe -- I should just post my own recipe and probably will -- but I got a lot of inspiration here so I decided to leave a review in case another cook is stuck with steaks and no baked or sweet potatoes to bake and need a starch/carb side dish -- fast. I took a pack of Bob Evans original mashed potatoes found in the fridge section of the grocery (not the family size one -- just the regular size) and added about three tablespoons 1/3 less fat cream chese, about 1/4 cup sour cream, probably a full cup or more of shredded mild cheddar cheese - divided, three green onions sliced thin (white and light green parts) and probably about a teaspoon to a teaspoon and a half of SPICY Montreal seasoning. Mixed it all in a stand mixer. I microwaved them for two minutes in a bowl covered with a paper plate before adding more cheese and stirring and microwaving for another three minutes. YUM. Will definitely make these again -- though not too often since they're terrible for you even with the reduced fat cream cheese & sour cream! Looking forward to dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I tried this on my family. I made it just as the recipe said. They were a hit! My family said I really outdid myself. Will definitely make these again and will probably not be able to go back to my old traditional recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
By far the best mashed potatoes ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I used instant mashed potates, wish is always on shelf & oh so easy! The seasoning really make a deluxe dish. This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
My family likes creamier potatoes, so I had to add more butter and milk to get it to consistency we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
These are good and certainly different than the usual mashed potato recipes. I had to add more milk to mine but other than that followed exactly. This does make a lot though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I had to leave out the cream cheese (someone used my little bit I saved for this recipe...) and used cheddar as my cheese. I used a "cheapy" steak seasoning, and am wondering if this impacted the recipe in a negative way. Nevertheless, we weren't fond of said seasoning in our potatoes. We'll keep it on our meats. Thank you anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
ditto the rest of the posters....Montreal seasoning is pretty potent stuff and I was afraid to use 2 TB. Plus the seasoning has a lot of salt in it already...and there is bacon..so I omitted the salt. Did love it/will make again...but as written would be too strong on the seasoning and too much salt...so am giving it a 4 as it had to be modified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Bacon and cheese will add wonderful flavors to any dish. I followed the recipe only adding 1T of Montreal Steak Seasoning, instead of 2T and it turns out it added a real nice flavor to the mashed potatoes. I also left out the salt since the steak seasoning, bacon, and cheese was already salty. The mashed potatoes were rich, creamy, filling and flavorful! I served this as a side dish with, “Sunday Meat Loaf,” and “Creamy Mushroom Peas,” also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States