Montreal Steak Seasoned Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very good. Tastes like a loaded baked potato without the baked potato part. I kept calling them baked potatoes, actually. These are very rich, so definitely not an everyday side, but nice every once in a while. I left out the salt bc with the steak seasoning, bacon, and cheese, I figured it would be plenty salty. I am so glad I left out the salt, as it was perfect without. After eating, I glanced at the steak seasoning jar and noticed the first ingredient is salt--so test it first before adding the salt. If you think it's not salty enough, then go for it. Very filling and good with the Montreal Peppered Steak that is also on this site. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Very Tasty Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheRedx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Outstanding! I did find these on the peppery side. Next time I will cut back on the seasoning and add more bacon. My family loved these potatoes and I will be making it again very soon. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keokuk, Iowa, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momof3
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
These are good but make sure you taste as you go, it would have been much too salty otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I made this with 5 lbs of potatoes. Don't double the Montreal seasoning if you are doing this or it will be too salty! Great flavor, not overly rich tasting. Love the peels left on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GospelSingerGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I would have given this 5 stars but I used spicy Montreal and it was a bit too strange tasting. Next time I'll use regular and give it 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I cut the recipe in half for my family and these turned out sooo yummy. They're quite rich and not for the dieter but definitely amazing on a chilly winter night. I served them with a pork roast and brocccoli/cauliflower casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I doubled this and ended up adding more butter. I didn't measure. I just added. I'm really glad I tasted the potatoes before I added more salt after I added the steak seasoning. It would have been WAY too salty if I hadn't. These potatoes are different. I'm not sure I like them alone, but they might be good with the Bottom Round Roast with Onion Gravy. I'll update after we have dinner and try them together. EDITED: My husband remarked on how this tasted like a steakhouse baked potato and how he loved it. Just for that, I'm making it again. Thank you for the recipe. It went well with the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States