Montreal Steak Seasoned Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Great potatoes! I served these with steak, of course. I found the extra kosher salt was not necessary, what with the salt in the water and in the seasoning. I did use the full amount of steak seasoning and it was a bit much. I would recommend using less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
These are amazing! Absolutely delicious! I made these to go with bacon wrapped filet mignons for a small dinner party, and everyone loved these! I changed the serving to 10 because I planned to use 5 pounds of potatoes. I did only use 2 Tablesppons of Montreal seasoning, and that seemed like the perfect amount and I also omitted the salt. Although I did make enough for dinner, I really wish I made more so I could have leftovers, yes they are that good! I also added a small handful of snipped chives and that really added wonderful flavor. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe, this will be used often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This was really good and my family enjoyed it. Even though I heeded the advice of the reviewers who noted lessening the amount of Montreal Seasoning and omiting the salt, I still found the seasoning a bit much. Next time around I will use even less seasoning and taste it as I go. I will also add more bacon and add some scallions or onion. A really good recipe and definitely worth recommending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
not bad at all, not for the dieter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
These were a nice change from plain old mashed potatoes. I have reduced the bacon bits and Montreal steak spice as I found it too salty the first time I made them. These are a "keeper" for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mammarobe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
OH MAMA. So delish. Made a ton and had some to freeze. Were letting them cool and then my husband, and maybe me forgot to put them in the freezer. Ugh. Definitely will make these again and remember to put them away
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrwag

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Yummy!!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
WOW!!! we use Montreal Seasoning alot but NEVER thought to use it like this!! i did forget to put the bacon in but we are going to put it on top of our servings on the plate. Made these with a few other recipes from this site and my 19 year old daughter was trying to eat them all before she made her plate, hehe. Getting ready to make my plate now but these are wonderful right by themselves!!! Just give me a spoon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBROWN998

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This was very good!! I left out the extra salt because the Montreal Steak Seasoning is plenty salty (I didn't use the full 2 Tbsps, either). I also didn't have bacon bits, but instead chopped up a few slices of Oscar Meyer precooked bacon. I will definitely be making this again, and, as naples34102 suggested, I will use either a small onion, or green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Unionville, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
WOW! This may now be my new favorite way to have mashed potatoes. I must admit, I was a little scared to put the entire 2 tablespoons of steak seasoning in there, but decided to just go for it and I am sooooo glad I did! These were absolutely perfect...no changes necessary! YUM! YUM! YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States