Montreal Steak Seasoned Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Yummy!! These are GREAT!! I had to eat a bit before dinner cause they looked so good! Will make these over and over again!! Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
My boyfriend loved these potatoes (as did I!). I asked him to mash them while I added ingredients and he didn't seem to mind the cream cheese, which he doesn't usually like but we both agreed that it was tasty in these! I didn't have any bacon but it really didn't make too big of a difference. We left our potatoes unpeeled and used fat free cream cheese, lowfat cheese, and Country Crock. This recipe is a great and rich variation of mashed potatoes...I would use this again sometime. I also added some fresh minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
These were wonderful! I didn't add the bacon because I didn't have any but it didn't detract from the great flavor of these potatoes. I only added about 5 tsp. instead of 2 tbsp. steak seasoning and tasted as I added along the way. I also added a little more milk than called for. Great way to jazz up mashed potatoes and I think I will be craving these from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
YUM! I love home made taters. NOT out of a box!!! These were quite tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by getcookin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
A little heavy on the Montreal Steak Seasoning for me but easy enough to adjust. I used real bacon and a mild cheddar. Flavorful, delicious and well-liked by my dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarielJD
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Very good! A different flavor than regular mashed pots but very good and will make again. I did use more milk and butter than this called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
We have a huge bottle of Montreal Steak seasoning in the pantry that we frequently use on our steaks, but I never would have thought to add it to my mashed potatoes, until I saw this recipe reviewed. These were spectacular. Everyone loved them and I will definitely use this recipe time and time again. I used yukon gold potatoes because that's what I had in the pantry, and turkey bacon, also because I already had some cooked in the fridge. Great idea - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I made this while on vacation, and my family LOVED IT. I made it after we got home, but mashed to potatoes too much, and they didn't like it as well. I would recommend leaving larger chunks of potato when you mash them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Grieder

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I did 2 lbs of potatoes (red & yukon gold), 1 tb of Montreal seasoning, omitted the Kosher salt, and left everything else according to the recipe amts. Quite good, will definitely make again... I did find they were a bit dry and ended up adding 4 tb sour cream, which helped "wet" them, except the next day the leftovers were a quite dry again... And I used only 2/3 of the potatoes called for so I can't imagine if I had put in the extra lb! Flavor was excellent though so I'll just dr. it up to our preferred consistency or serve with gravy (not that they need it though, flavor-wise). Would have NEVER thought to add Montreal seasoning to mashed potatoes, but it totally works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Great potatoes! I served these with steak, of course. I found the extra kosher salt was not necessary, what with the salt in the water and in the seasoning. I did use the full amount of steak seasoning and it was a bit much. I would recommend using less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States