Montreal Steak Seasoned Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Best mashed potatoes EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I used Bob Evans mashed potatoes and made THE BEST loaded mashed EVER. I feel conflicted about reviewing this recipe -- I should just post my own recipe and probably will -- but I got a lot of inspiration here so I decided to leave a review in case another cook is stuck with steaks and no baked or sweet potatoes to bake and need a starch/carb side dish -- fast. I took a pack of Bob Evans original mashed potatoes found in the fridge section of the grocery (not the family size one -- just the regular size) and added about three tablespoons 1/3 less fat cream chese, about 1/4 cup sour cream, probably a full cup or more of shredded mild cheddar cheese - divided, three green onions sliced thin (white and light green parts) and probably about a teaspoon to a teaspoon and a half of SPICY Montreal seasoning. Mixed it all in a stand mixer. I microwaved them for two minutes in a bowl covered with a paper plate before adding more cheese and stirring and microwaving for another three minutes. YUM. Will definitely make these again -- though not too often since they're terrible for you even with the reduced fat cream cheese & sour cream! Looking forward to dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I tried this on my family. I made it just as the recipe said. They were a hit! My family said I really outdid myself. Will definitely make these again and will probably not be able to go back to my old traditional recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
By far the best mashed potatoes ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I used instant mashed potates, wish is always on shelf & oh so easy! The seasoning really make a deluxe dish. This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
My family likes creamier potatoes, so I had to add more butter and milk to get it to consistency we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
These are good and certainly different than the usual mashed potato recipes. I had to add more milk to mine but other than that followed exactly. This does make a lot though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I had to leave out the cream cheese (someone used my little bit I saved for this recipe...) and used cheddar as my cheese. I used a "cheapy" steak seasoning, and am wondering if this impacted the recipe in a negative way. Nevertheless, we weren't fond of said seasoning in our potatoes. We'll keep it on our meats. Thank you anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
ditto the rest of the posters....Montreal seasoning is pretty potent stuff and I was afraid to use 2 TB. Plus the seasoning has a lot of salt in it already...and there is bacon..so I omitted the salt. Did love it/will make again...but as written would be too strong on the seasoning and too much salt...so am giving it a 4 as it had to be modified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Bacon and cheese will add wonderful flavors to any dish. I followed the recipe only adding 1T of Montreal Steak Seasoning, instead of 2T and it turns out it added a real nice flavor to the mashed potatoes. I also left out the salt since the steak seasoning, bacon, and cheese was already salty. The mashed potatoes were rich, creamy, filling and flavorful! I served this as a side dish with, “Sunday Meat Loaf,” and “Creamy Mushroom Peas,” also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States