Monterey Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I really liked this recipe. I made it as a meal by adding 1 large can of white chunk chicken (drained), and half a medium bag of frozen broccoli florets (cooked). I then baked at 400 for 35 mins. Lastly,I added a top layer of Monterey Jack cheese and fried french onions, cooked for an additional 5 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I almost rated this 1 star. Well, it would have been 1-star if I hadn't added so much to make it edible. Cooked the recipe just as specified. At the end I did add some already cooked, chopped chicken breast but I don't think that changed the flavor. It was very bland and mostly just tasted like mushy pasta and overcooked spinach. I had to add salt, garlic powder, chopped onions, onion powder, and chicken bouillon to try and make it taste ok. At that point after adding all of that it was still mediocre and I needed it to taste good enough for kids to eat. Then, as a last ditch effort, I added a tiny bit of italian dressing I had in my fridge. That seemed to make it better. If I had it on hand I would've added some pesto but didn't currently have any. I also wound up cooking some sausage (ground) and adding it. I figured at this point it won't hurt it but I did feel kind of bad wasting sausage on this. It also doesn't need that much time cooking!!! Way, way less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Good side dish to accompany chicken, beef or fish. Main dish....not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I used Mini Farfalle instead of spaghetti (only because I didn't have any spaghetti) and I also used fresh spinach (which next time I will chop because I wasn't thinking and just threw it in there whole). I honestly didn't measure the Monterey cheese, because I bought it in a block since I couldn't find it in a bag, but I didn't use but maybe half it called for and it came out great. I also used salt and pepper to taste, a pinch of basil and oregano. When I tasted the sauce right out of the pot, it tasted super salty, but once I cooked the noodles and mixed them in at the end, it no longer tasted salty at all. I thought it was pretty good, and the BF really liked it as well. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrishDHM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Edible, but not enough flavor. This would have benefited from a creamier sauce. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I made this according to the recipe except substituting a different shape pasta (what I had on hand) and adding more of the French's fried onions, as I felt it was a little bland without them. It was edible, but definitely just an "okay" all around--not something we'll be making again. For such a heavy/hearty dish, it just didn't have the taste I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I wanted to like this...and even with the comments about blandness I thought I'd be okay with this recipe because I'm generally sensitive to strong flavors. Well....It was blah even for me. I kind of expected it to be creamier, a bit saucier...but it wasn't. I'm not even sure that tweaking would fix it. Won't make again. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Great tasting recipe! I obviously did something wrong, as my pasta burned/stuck to the sides of my crockpot. But, the crunch gained from that made the recipe even more deliscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlfakes
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is a good base recipe. I also added more garlic, a can of diced tomatoes, and seasoning. I also increased the amount of pasta instead of adjusting the sour cream/cheese amount. I am not a big fan of cream sauce, so I added some marinara sauce to make it a creamy marinara. It turned our well, but was overcooked. Next time, I will reduce to cooking time and also barely cook the pasta before I add it to the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Love this! I reduced the cheese too and used yellow onion instead of fried and added chicken. This is a household favorite for us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Pesto

Grilled chicken strips are served with spaghetti tossed with veggies and pesto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States