Monterey Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
I read the reviews as I was putting everything in the slow cooker and tried to take caution with the cook time, but after only about 2 hours the cheese was carmelizing the dish was looking less than appealing. I agree with those who called this recipe bland, it is certainly lacking and I wouldn't recommend it. Opt for a baked spinach lasagna instead. It takes less cook time and tastes much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Well, I was a little afraid to try this after some of the reviews. I only cooked this for about 2 hours in the crockpot, stirring often. Also, I kept my noodles seperate from the crockpot--that way they wouldn't absorb the flavor or get mushy. It turned out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Unfortunately, I didn't read the reviews that mentioned it overcooking until I was at work and it was at home overcooking. Too bad, the part that was unburned seemed okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
This was really a hit in our house! It got a little dry by the time we ate it, but was really delicious nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
I made this dish in the OVEN instead of the crockpot and it worked out well, although I did make a couple changes. I left out the fried onions, increased the garlic to 4 cloves finely chopped, and added hot italian sausage. After combining everything, I baked it in a grased casserole dish for 40 min at 400 degrees (topping w/ extra cheese for the last 10 minutes). It's a keeper recipe done this way and I'd recommend trying it in the oven if the crockpot didn't work out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I thought this would be a great dish since it listed such yummy ingredients. I needed "something" so I added cream of mushroom soup. That still didn't help. I may make this again to try & "tweak" it & see if I can make this one work. It certainly is not good if you follow the recipe and it does burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
This has become a favorite dish in my house. We love it!!! I will admit, I put about 3/4th of the spinach in but that is the only change. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
I added some fresh chopped tomatoes, monterey pepper jack cheese and salsa, turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I guess you could substitute fat-free sour cream and low fat cheeses; the description says "healty and wholesome", but this recipe is 70% fat!!!! That is NOT healthy in my opinion. Too bland, not worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
I was a little disappointed with this recipe..I love spinach but would definately cut the spinach by half and maybe omit the fried onions all together. I did add tomatoes and in if I make it in the future maybe a few artichokes. It was 100% better after it was refrigerated and reheated. I might make it again just to try a few variations but I would make it as more of a side dish rather than the main course or try it again as a meal except I would try adding chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Pesto

Grilled chicken strips are served with spaghetti tossed with veggies and pesto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States