Monterey Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Good, but needs finessing to appeal to my family's taste. Good starter for a mild, easy pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I made this recipe following other's suggestions...adding more garlic, baking it in the oven. I also used cheddar instead of monterey, since that was what I had in the house. My family liked this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
The flavor was good - however, it got burnt a little on the sides cooking it according to the recipe. I think next time I will add more liquid and stir it more often to prevent it from burning. But, overall, the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
After reading some of the other reviews, I was worried about trying this in the slow cooker so I did it in the oven. I used Colby Jack cheese since Wal-Mart apparently doesn't carry shredded Monterey Jack cheese. Added a tad bit more garlic. Was rather tasty and quick to put together. Needs a bit more liquid or less cooking time because the spaghetti was a little crunchy in some parts of the dish from over cooking. I did about 30 minutes covered until the last five minutes when I added last bit of cheese and onions to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAELITH
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I found this recipie to be very greasy, probably from the cheese. We won't be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I followed advice from below, adding 4 cloves of garlic and baking it in the oven at 400 for 40 minutes. I also used egg noodles, fresh chopped baby spinach, and added chopped mushroons. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
For the amount of fat (28g per serving) in this recipie I thought it would be very creamy. However it was very bland. I don't think it was worth it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
I read the reviews as I was putting everything in the slow cooker and tried to take caution with the cook time, but after only about 2 hours the cheese was carmelizing the dish was looking less than appealing. I agree with those who called this recipe bland, it is certainly lacking and I wouldn't recommend it. Opt for a baked spinach lasagna instead. It takes less cook time and tastes much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Well, I was a little afraid to try this after some of the reviews. I only cooked this for about 2 hours in the crockpot, stirring often. Also, I kept my noodles seperate from the crockpot--that way they wouldn't absorb the flavor or get mushy. It turned out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Unfortunately, I didn't read the reviews that mentioned it overcooking until I was at work and it was at home overcooking. Too bad, the part that was unburned seemed okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Pesto

Grilled chicken strips are served with spaghetti tossed with veggies and pesto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States