Monterey Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Good side dish to accompany chicken, beef or fish. Main dish....not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I used Mini Farfalle instead of spaghetti (only because I didn't have any spaghetti) and I also used fresh spinach (which next time I will chop because I wasn't thinking and just threw it in there whole). I honestly didn't measure the Monterey cheese, because I bought it in a block since I couldn't find it in a bag, but I didn't use but maybe half it called for and it came out great. I also used salt and pepper to taste, a pinch of basil and oregano. When I tasted the sauce right out of the pot, it tasted super salty, but once I cooked the noodles and mixed them in at the end, it no longer tasted salty at all. I thought it was pretty good, and the BF really liked it as well. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrishDHM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Edible, but not enough flavor. This would have benefited from a creamier sauce. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I made this according to the recipe except substituting a different shape pasta (what I had on hand) and adding more of the French's fried onions, as I felt it was a little bland without them. It was edible, but definitely just an "okay" all around--not something we'll be making again. For such a heavy/hearty dish, it just didn't have the taste I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I wanted to like this...and even with the comments about blandness I thought I'd be okay with this recipe because I'm generally sensitive to strong flavors. Well....It was blah even for me. I kind of expected it to be creamier, a bit saucier...but it wasn't. I'm not even sure that tweaking would fix it. Won't make again. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Great tasting recipe! I obviously did something wrong, as my pasta burned/stuck to the sides of my crockpot. But, the crunch gained from that made the recipe even more deliscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlfakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is a good base recipe. I also added more garlic, a can of diced tomatoes, and seasoning. I also increased the amount of pasta instead of adjusting the sour cream/cheese amount. I am not a big fan of cream sauce, so I added some marinara sauce to make it a creamy marinara. It turned our well, but was overcooked. Next time, I will reduce to cooking time and also barely cook the pasta before I add it to the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Love this! I reduced the cheese too and used yellow onion instead of fried and added chicken. This is a household favorite for us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was good, but was just missing "something". Some kind of flavor needed to be added. I will try to make it again and perhaps try some of the other reviewers suggestions. A good base recipe for something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENI MOORE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mbehr14
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This was very good as a side dish. I served it with grilled italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbehr14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alsip, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Barilla® Spaghetti with Chicken and Pesto

Grilled chicken strips are served with spaghetti tossed with veggies and pesto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States