Monterey Ranch Chicken Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as written and it was good. However, next time I will not add the cheese to the coating mix but will add it on top 10 minutes before baking is finished. Also I would suggest drizzling butter on the coated chicken before baking to make it a little more juicy. Overall a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyceB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I thought I had a packet of dry ranch dressing mix but it was dry Italian dressing mix (oops) however I did have some regular ranch dressing, and this really looked good. SO, I decided to mix the ranch dressing (I eyeballed it, probably about 3/4 a cup) and the cheese, dip the chicken in that and then dredge in the bread crumbs. I only had the Italian seasoned bread crumbs, but I didn't think it mattered too much. My son, who can be picky about meat sometimes, LOVED this! It's a winner and will make again! Thanks for a great, and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
We liked the flavor in this crispy baked chicken. I think its flavor would appeal to a lot of people and I could see where it would be popular at a pot luck. I used dry panko bread crumbs because they make it really crispy. I used a combination of shredded Monterey Jack and Cheddar because that is what I had on hand. The package of shredded cheese had the two mixed together. I did not have a package of the ranch dressing mix so I made some using Scotdog's Dry Buttermilk Ranch Mix recipe from this site. On the first couple of pieces of chicken the breading was not sticking to the chicken as well as I liked so I stirred an egg into the milk and that helped the breading stick a little better. I placed the chicken on a baking rack inside a baking dish to keep the bottom of the chicken crispy. I sprayed the chicken with cooking spray and then put it in the oven. I can't say the exact time as the power went out during a thunderstorm while it was in the oven. So it took longer than usual. The end result was a delicious flavorful crispy chicken. As I like spicy foods, next time I might use pepper jack cheese or add a little cayenne to give it a little heat. Thanks Joanne for a new recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Mama Mia's Cakes
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Made this tonight for dinner. It was very good and moist. I did sprinkle some garlic salt on the chicken breast before because I was thinking it might be low on salt with just the breading. It added a nice garlic flavor to it. Just use a little so it doesn't become too salty. I also used buttermilk instead of milk because it is what I had on hand. The buttermilk adds to the ranch flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Mia's Cakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Threw the extra breadcrumb/cheese mix over the tops of the chicken breasts and covered with foil before baking - delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Claire

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Very good! Bake for 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
SO good. Add Frank's Hot Sauce here and there before baking and you create a buffalo-ranch chicken. Making this tonight....can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Great dish, very flavorful and easy. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I would actually give this about 4.5 stars...it was quite good! The consensus was that the ranch wasn't as noticeable as we thought it should be. It just was a little bland. However, the ranch was much stronger when we reheated some leftovers. This was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This is a nice way to jazz up baked chicken breasts. I made this and then sliced the breasts and served it on a salad, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Breaded Parmesan Ranch Chicken

Just five basic ingredients, and chicken dinner’s ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States