Monterey Ranch Chicken Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Perfectly tender and delicious! Easy dinner for a busy school night! I used slices of Jack cheese, and put them on top, I do think the shredded would've been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
We liked the flavor in this crispy baked chicken. I think its flavor would appeal to a lot of people and I could see where it would be popular at a pot luck. I used dry panko bread crumbs because they make it really crispy. I used a combination of shredded Monterey Jack and Cheddar because that is what I had on hand. The package of shredded cheese had the two mixed together. I did not have a package of the ranch dressing mix so I made some using Scotdog's Dry Buttermilk Ranch Mix recipe from this site. On the first couple of pieces of chicken the breading was not sticking to the chicken as well as I liked so I stirred an egg into the milk and that helped the breading stick a little better. I placed the chicken on a baking rack inside a baking dish to keep the bottom of the chicken crispy. I sprayed the chicken with cooking spray and then put it in the oven. I can't say the exact time as the power went out during a thunderstorm while it was in the oven. So it took longer than usual. The end result was a delicious flavorful crispy chicken. As I like spicy foods, next time I might use pepper jack cheese or add a little cayenne to give it a little heat. Thanks Joanne for a new recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Fast and simple to make! Was a hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was so good!! I followed the recipe exact and we loved the coating on the chicken! Oh I just remembered I added a beaten egg to the milk as Occasional Cooker had mentioned to make sure the coating stayed on the chicken. I wanted to sprinkle a little more cheese on the chicken but DH thought we should just try it as it's written which we did but next time I might like to add a little more to the tops :) We'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as written and it was good. However, next time I will not add the cheese to the coating mix but will add it on top 10 minutes before baking is finished. Also I would suggest drizzling butter on the coated chicken before baking to make it a little more juicy. Overall a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyceB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I would actually give this about 4.5 stars...it was quite good! The consensus was that the ranch wasn't as noticeable as we thought it should be. It just was a little bland. However, the ranch was much stronger when we reheated some leftovers. This was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Very good! Bake for 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
easy to make and it was a huge hit. Even my fussiest child ate. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I thought I had a packet of dry ranch dressing mix but it was dry Italian dressing mix (oops) however I did have some regular ranch dressing, and this really looked good. SO, I decided to mix the ranch dressing (I eyeballed it, probably about 3/4 a cup) and the cheese, dip the chicken in that and then dredge in the bread crumbs. I only had the Italian seasoned bread crumbs, but I didn't think it mattered too much. My son, who can be picky about meat sometimes, LOVED this! It's a winner and will make again! Thanks for a great, and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Easy and yummy. The chicken could have been a bit more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Loganville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Breaded Parmesan Ranch Chicken

Just five basic ingredients, and chicken dinner’s ready in less than an hour.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States