Monterey Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
I absolutely love to cook and do a lot of it, which is the one an only reason I consider myself an experienced cook. The problem with being an experienced cook, is that there don't seem to be many surprises left, whether it be recipes I find, or even the restaurants my husband and I frequent. HOWEVER, this chicken dish, is truly one of the best I've ever eaten! The different ingredients flavored this dish beautifully and it is certainly elegant enough for a dinner party. Thank you Leigh; it's a winner at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
To make your own teriyaki marinade sauce, mix together 1 (6 oz) can of pineapple juice, 1/4 cup of packed brown sugar and 1/4 cup of soy sauce in a saucepan and cook until the sugar is dissolved. With wire whisk, whip in 1/4 teaspoon of ground ginger, 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder and 1 dash of celery salt (to taste); continue cooking until well mixed. Allow to cool before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Very nice recipe, Leigh! I wasn't too sure at first as to how this combination of ingredients would fly, but as others have already said, all of the flavors complimented eachother and the results were delicious. I used a lot more cheese, and I had to use a red pepper instead of a green. Served with buttered egg noodles and lots of parm. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2001
OUTSTANDING RECIPE!!!!!!!My husband and I loved it. Goes great with mashed potatoes or on a sandwich roll the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
Mmmmmm, this dish was great! I used stir fry sauce instead of teriyaki because I thought it would be too sweet. I used turkey bacon and pepper jack cheese. I also marinated the chicken in the stir fry sauce overnight. I served the chicken with pan-fried asparagus, and it was a big hit. There were no leftovers at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
This includes a lot of steps, but it worth it. I didn't really think that the teriyaki sauce blended with the other flavors, esp. the bacon. Next time I will omit the teriyaki marinade, eliminating a lot of time too and I think it will be better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by selena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bark River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
The recipe looked inviting to me except for the fact that neither Hubs nor I are fans of teriyaki marinades. Marinating the chicken breasts in a Lemon Dijon Vinaigrette was a better fit for us. I find baking boneless chicken breasts at a higher temperature keeps them tender and moist, so after baking them for 20 minutes at 400 degrees, I topped them with the vegetables and just a little shredded mozzarella (we didn’t want a whole lot of cheese on the chicken) and returned them to the oven briefly, just long enough to melt the cheese. Nice recipe – we really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This is extremely delicious and the recipe works just as it is written. The only modification I made was to omit the butter used to sautee the onion, bell pepper, and mushrooms (believe me you do not need the butter) and I cooked it for an extra ten minutes. I will say that this is an extremely filling meal and probably should be prepared for a groups of very hungry people. I mean, it has bacon, cheese, chicken - it is rich and hearty. But very delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
All I can say is OMG!!! Absolutely fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This had such great flavors. The only drawback that I had with this recipe was that the bacon and butter made for a very rich and heavy taste. I think that if I make it again I will omit the butter. The house LOVED it simply because there was bacon with the chicken. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D89BUTTONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alice Chicken

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey-mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Oh-So-Good Chicken

This cheesy chicken and rice casserole stars salsa, sour cream, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States