Monterey Chicken with Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2005
My family loved this. There was nothing left. I added salt & pepper to the potatoes. I marinated my chicken in 1/4 cup lime juice, cilantro and 1 1/2 cup salsa (I used fresh from the refrigerated section of the grocery) before baking. I also sliced a lime very thin with a mandolin and added it to the marinade. When I added the chicken to the potatoes, I put all the marinade in too. I covered and baked this for 25 minutes at 425 and then reduced the heat to 350 for another 30 minutes. I uncovered the pan and added the cheese and baked for a few more minutes. The salsa and lime flavors are a great combination. I will serve this to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Read alot of reviews before making this. I marinated the chicken in 1/2 cup mild salsa to which I had added 1 Tblsp. fresh lime juice for 1/2 hour. While it was marinating I sliced the potatoes fairly thin and cut each slice into 4 pieces, put them in my roaster pan(14x9) which was lined with heavy duty foil, sprayed with Pam, lightly salted and peppered them, sprinkled some onion flakes over them and drizzled the tablespoon of melted butter over them and tossed. Baked for 15 min. in preheated 425 oven. Took pan out, pushed potatoes along side of pan and put the chicken in the middle, brushed pieces with the remaining butter and tablespoon of lime juice which I mixed in a small bowl. Returned to oven for 10 minutes. Mixed Newmans Black Bean & Corn Salsa & parsley together, poured over chicken, baked at 425 covered for 25 minutes, reduced oven temp to 375 and cooked another 20 minutes. Removed foil and sprinkled Sargento Reduced Fat 4 Cheese Mexican over chicken and potatoes and put back in oven for 5 minutes. This is so good. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
This dish is absolutely wonderful and fresh. I made a few changes in ingredients. I had sauteed chicken earlier in the day so I had that on hand. I baked the potatoes at 425 for the time mentioned, pushed them aside and dropped the temp to 325 (since my chicken had been cooked earlier) and returned it to the oven until heated through. I also used dried chives in place of the cilantro I didn't have on hand and also used Italian blend of cheeses in place of the Mexican blend. My husband and I LOVED it and I plan to keep this and make it for family and friends. Thanks Kellly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Center Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
Yum, Yum! I also marinated this for about 30 minutes in 1 TBSP lime juice and 1/2 Cup salsa. Then I used another 1/2 Cup salsa with the cheese mixture. Also roasted the potatoes for about 25 minutes before I added the chicken. It was really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This is a family favorite. The only things I do differently is I make a little more sauce (salsa/cheese/cilantro) because we like it, and I also add a can of corn which I spread over the chicken and potatoes. I've served it to company, and they loved it as much as we do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
I'm changing my review to five stars, I made again last night and it was so amazingly simple, easy, and delicious it deserves it! I don't make the chicken, just the potatoes, we just weren't thrilled with the chicken part the first time, but these potatoes will be on the menu at least a few times a month. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: May 6, 2006
I made this again for the first time in about 5 years. I've up'ed it to a 5 and wanted to re-review but I see no way to just delete an old review, so I'll just add to it. The original: I liked this as is. I didn't have Mexican cheese and used a combo of Jack, mozarella & Colby. Otherwise it was made as is, including temperature, cooking times, etc. And I thought the chicken was fine and unlike others, the potatoes seemed to tend to overcook. Perhaps I cubed mine smaller? I made it a second time, got lazy & didn't use the foil and it didn't turn out as well. I think potatoes do work well in foil. I liked that I could do everything in the oven and not cook anything ahead of time. New additional comments: This time I had a Mexican combo and that may have made a difference. I taste-tested and rather wondered why I'd even given it a 4, but it was much better as a whole put-together dish, eating chicken & potatoes together. I think the butter is necessary, both in terms of allowing the potatoes to get cooked (and I stirred them) and to make them tender. My oven temp is right on and I think these times work but big chunks vs cubed will take longer. It also doesn't specify a size for the potatoes, and mine were probably about 5 oz, give or take.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
I will give this another try...should've read the reviews before making it. Definitely needed to marinate - the chicken was bland underneath the sauce. It was also rubbery b/c of the high temp cooking that took about 15 mins longer than stated. Next time I'll marinate and drop the oven temp after about 25 mins as another reviewer did. The lime flavor was refreshing! Such an easy recipe that it deserves a second chance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Delicious! I made only a few changes: I floured and browned the chicken breasts in a skillet as a previous reviewer, added more lime juice, added a can of black beans that I poured over the chicken before the cheese/salsa mixture. I also added fresh mushrooms. I really liked the fresh lime flavor. Very good and easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I know everyone hates when people give less stars when they changed the recipe, so I am giving it 5 stars even though I did make some changes. It was delicious, and it doesn't have to be so unhealthy, either. Here's what I did differently. I used about a pound of yukon gold potatoes, tossed them with 1 tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil, about 1/2 teaspoon of cumin, and 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt. Then added about 3 tablespoons of chopped fresh cilantro. I followed the baking directions, then added the chicken breasts, about 1 pound total, each breast half sliced in half again so they were thin. I melted 1 tablespoon of butter, added about 2 tablespoons of cilantro, and squeezed half a lime in. This I brushed on the chicken. Baked again. Took it all out, poured 1/4 cup salsa over the chicken (cherry salsa, yum!), then topped with about 1/4 cup of cheese...it doesn't need much because everything else makes it so good! With those changes it comes out to about 340 calories per serving (of 4) which is much better than the original. Perfect, easy and fast to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkionwine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States