Monterey Chicken with Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
Excellent recipe! Everyone loved it. Needless to say, there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
I was browsing for a dinner recipe and this was perfect! It tastes light and fresh, thanks to the lime and cilantro! I used a little more cheese, salsa and cilantro, just because I knew my family would like *tons* of the sauce, but the recipe is perfect as is! This was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
I'm changing my review to five stars, I made again last night and it was so amazingly simple, easy, and delicious it deserves it! I don't make the chicken, just the potatoes, we just weren't thrilled with the chicken part the first time, but these potatoes will be on the menu at least a few times a month. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
Couldn't believe when I saw this recipe because I've made something very similar for years, but never with the potatoes. What a great addition! I never thought to add cilantro to my recipe...it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
Didn't care for the chicken, but like other reviewers I liked the potatoes. Will possibly cook them like that again. The chicken tho, hmmm...I think it didn't soak in enough of the flavor. Maybe season it a bit more, then marinate it in the lime sauce for more flavor and brown it for better texture? It had enough potential to try some new things with it, so I may. For now, as is, 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
My family loved this. There was nothing left. I added salt & pepper to the potatoes. I marinated my chicken in 1/4 cup lime juice, cilantro and 1 1/2 cup salsa (I used fresh from the refrigerated section of the grocery) before baking. I also sliced a lime very thin with a mandolin and added it to the marinade. When I added the chicken to the potatoes, I put all the marinade in too. I covered and baked this for 25 minutes at 425 and then reduced the heat to 350 for another 30 minutes. I uncovered the pan and added the cheese and baked for a few more minutes. The salsa and lime flavors are a great combination. I will serve this to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
This dish is absolutely wonderful and fresh. I made a few changes in ingredients. I had sauteed chicken earlier in the day so I had that on hand. I baked the potatoes at 425 for the time mentioned, pushed them aside and dropped the temp to 325 (since my chicken had been cooked earlier) and returned it to the oven until heated through. I also used dried chives in place of the cilantro I didn't have on hand and also used Italian blend of cheeses in place of the Mexican blend. My husband and I LOVED it and I plan to keep this and make it for family and friends. Thanks Kellly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Center Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
This was very good and easy to make. My kids loved it with lime squeezed on the top and rolled in tortillas. Very good served with a vegetable medley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
My family LOVED this! I didn't have cilantro so I used fresh green onions instead. It turned out wonderfully! My husband said that he wants me to make it again. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
Really great recipe! I used small new red potato halves, letting this roast to a slight crispiness. Then doubled all other ingredients to top chicken. Thanks so much for this new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States