Monterey Chicken with Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great, easy, one dish recipe. I marinanated my chicken breast with garlic, lime juice, and taco seasoning for about 2 hours before cooking. Also used double the salsa, taco seasoning on potatoes, green onions, and crushed red peppers to give it a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jag's Cooking!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
DH really liked this. I think it has to do with his favorite food...butter. :) Served with green beans and "Fruit Salad Dessert."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Read alot of reviews before making this. I marinated the chicken in 1/2 cup mild salsa to which I had added 1 Tblsp. fresh lime juice for 1/2 hour. While it was marinating I sliced the potatoes fairly thin and cut each slice into 4 pieces, put them in my roaster pan(14x9) which was lined with heavy duty foil, sprayed with Pam, lightly salted and peppered them, sprinkled some onion flakes over them and drizzled the tablespoon of melted butter over them and tossed. Baked for 15 min. in preheated 425 oven. Took pan out, pushed potatoes along side of pan and put the chicken in the middle, brushed pieces with the remaining butter and tablespoon of lime juice which I mixed in a small bowl. Returned to oven for 10 minutes. Mixed Newmans Black Bean & Corn Salsa & parsley together, poured over chicken, baked at 425 covered for 25 minutes, reduced oven temp to 375 and cooked another 20 minutes. Removed foil and sprinkled Sargento Reduced Fat 4 Cheese Mexican over chicken and potatoes and put back in oven for 5 minutes. This is so good. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
we browned the chicken first and added black beans - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Ease of preparation: 5 stars. Reviews of flavor given to me by people who ate it: 5 stars (“I think this is my favorite thing you’ve ever made”). Texture and appearance: 5 stars (very moist chicken and everything looked great). My review of the flavor: 4 stars, merely because I think the chicken needed a spice rub before I put it in the oven, but others disagreed. Timing of recipe: 4 stars, as the potatoes were slightly underdone but definitely edible. When I was looking for recipes, I wanted something easy which used stuff in my kitchen so I could avoid the trip to the store, but also nice enough I could serve to guests. I wanted something light, yet hardy, that I could add vegetables to in order to make it healthy. This fit the bill perfectly. Very easy to customize as long as you use quality ingredients. You can throw in onion and peppers to roast with the potatoes and you can put a can corn and/or beans into the salsa without disrupting the flavor balance. My advice regarding the potatoes: slice them small and they will come out tender. Also if the chicken is finishing before the potatoes, adding the salsa early will help soften the potatoes as well. This will be a repeat performer at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This recipe was not that good. The chicken was cooked for the time in the recipe but it was dry and there would have been no flavor to it other then from the salsa and cheese. Both the chicken and potatoes were very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I have made this twice now. Followed the recipe fairly closely, with exception of putting the salsa on the chicken as soon as I put it in the oven and I just used whatever cheese I had on hand. I used Paul Newman corn and black bean salsa and it was wonderful both times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Marinated the chicken breasts in the salsa and lime as suggested by other posters. Omitted the butter for the sake of lower fat and the result was still fantastic. A keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was pretty good! I did have to add about 8 minutes to the potatos the first time, but other than that- this recipe came out prefectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Very different! I never really thought of mixing cilantro, tomatoes, and potatoes but it turned out really good. I love cilantro, and this had a lot so if you aren't a fan of cilantro this might not be for you. But since I LOVE it, I loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States