Monterey Chicken with Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
My family seldom agrees on anything I make for dinner, but in this case I was shocked to find all thumbs up in agreement. I'm always on the look for a new recipe bullet to add to the dinner gun, and decided that chicken and potatoes were a sadly neglected option. This was the first of three that I printed off, so hopefully the others come close. I did microwave the potatoes for three minutes after dicing them, and I found that smaller breasts work better than larger ones. I especially liked the fresh taste of the cilantro. My son finished off the leftovers tonight and raved about the taste of the potatoes after they had picked up the flavor of the salsa, cheese and cilantro. I will make it again, possibly with a bit more salsa and cilantro just to spread the flavors around a little more, but the baseline recipe is a fresh tasting, family friendly entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WALLYUM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MsMeli_Mo
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Amazing dish! My tweaks. I marinated the chicken in lime juice, Sazon, adobo, & Medium Picante Salsa (my family loves spicy food). I let that marinated while I chopped up the potatoes. I seasoned the potatoes with Roasted Potato Seasoning & also added two tbsp in melted butter. I followed the baking directions as normal. I didn't have the mixed Mexican shredded cheese so I used what I had- shredded mozzarella & cut up slices of velveta cheese, cilantro & mixed with salsa- then spread on the chicken and potatoes. Potatoes were probably the best part- so much flavor! This is top five of my best dishes now. Delicious! Amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This is by far my families favorite dish so far. Its very simple to make and fast. You just put it together and throw it in the oven. Great recipe I didn't change any of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Rockstar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
The whole family loved it! But I also marinated the chicken in lime juice and salsa for about half an hour first. I also added onion and mushrooms to the potatoes which gave it a burst of flavor. I would use more lime juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This was great. Everyone loved it. I did marinate my chicken in lime juice and a little salsa the night before. Enjoyed the flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I.loved.this. And my family did, too. Super-easy with simple ingredients for a busy wife and mom. I followed this as written, except cutting butter to 1/4 cup. Served with a side of fresh, homemade guacamole and blue corn tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This recipe had good flavor but it took much longer to cook than stated, about 15 more minutes. If I make it again I will butterfly the chicken breasts. Also, I sliced the potatoes very thinly as recommended by other posters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I did alter and add some ingredients suggested from other reviews and added fresh garlic. Over all A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!! Huge hit, Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEWIFE02

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
We LOVED this recipe! I will definitely cook again! Next time I will marinade like suggested. I had to cook the chicken for 45 minutes because they were big breast steaks but that is all I did different. Also, you can never have too much cilantro or lime so I probably was a lot more heavy handed. haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States