Monterey Chicken with Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Delicious. Changes: I marinated the chicken in a little lime juice some salsa and cilantro for a short time. Didn't use so much butter on the chicken. Cooked at 425 for 20 min then down to 375 for about another 20 before adding the cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
It was good. A bit salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonshepi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Very good and very simple! Easy recipe for a working mom! I did call home ahead of time and have the kids marinate the chicken in 1 tbsp. lime and 1/4 cup salsa ahead of time. Will enjoy this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
it was good changed it from mexican to italian because i did not have mexican cheese on hand at the time however, definately needs salt and pepper as well as seasonings, and cook the potatos longer than 10 minutes the first go around. Most of ours were cooked but many were still hard. i would guess about 15 to 20 minutes longer the first time so that you do not dry the chicken out the second cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Not the healthiest but I still gave it five stars because my kids loved it. Finding something they will not only eat but rave about is worth ten stars in my books!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Great recipe, did a few things different. I sauteed the chicken in garlic, butter (used 1/4 c total) lime juice, salt, pepper and cayenne pepper before adding to the potatoes in the oven. Also I added salt, pepper and cayenne pepper to the potatoes before roasting, they definetly need more than 10 minutes to cook, mine were in the oven for almost 30 min (added chicken and salsa/cilantro for last 15, and cheese just a few minutes before to melt over the top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This was a great one dish meal. Good taste. We didn't add the salsa mixture over the potatoes since our kids wouldn't eat them if we did; we used a great baby gold variety that was excellent for roasting. Even without the full effect of the salsa mixture on the potatoes it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
After the first time I made this, I liked it but wasn't over the moon about it. Second time around, I followed some other reviews' tips - I marinated the chicken in lime juice and salsa for a few hours, and I also cooked the potatoes for closer to 20 minute before adding the chicken. This resulted in much moister chicken and crispier potatoes, which I liked. The cheese/salsa/cilantro topping is so yummy, so now that I've got the chicken and potatoes worked out, I'll definitely add this to the regular repetoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
The lime juice is interesting, and this turned out ok, but I couldn't help but feel like I'd cheated both the chicken and the potatoes by this cheesy compromise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States