Monterey Chicken with Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
my mom makes this quite often, and i love anything with cilantro because of this. it is a great dinner for anybody. i mean, who doesnt love cheesy chicken and potatoes? i like this so much, i even asked my mom to make it for me on my birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This was pretty good, but I had to do ALOT of modifying. The potatoes were practically raw after the short time in the oven, so I ended up cooking those for much longer then was stated. I marinated the chicken in lime juice and a mexican chili marinade to give it some flavor. I also seasoned the potatoes ahead of time with seasoned salt, pepper, garlic powder, lime juice, cilantro and red pepper flakes to give them some flavor. Overall, a good base recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Rating on chicken only....I was fixing potatoes a different way. The chicken was awesome and moist! wouldn't change a thing! Kids and hubby gobbled it up! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This was tasty. Nothing gourmet here, but my picky one asked for seconds. I would cut the butter in half. My daughter was making cookies so I used what she had left. I left the oven temp at 425 and my chicken was NOT dry. I will make this again. It is easy and I always have all the ingredients in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This could be a great recipe with a few adjustments. The butter needs to be cut waaaaay back. At the end, the dish was swimming in butter (and I had used approximately 1/3 cup only, not the 1/2 as in the recipe). The potatoes need to cook alone a little longer, maybe 15 minutes. I'll add more lime juice next time. I will make this again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I used Idaho potatoes (didn't have red), dried cilantro (didn't have fresh), and bottled lime juice and this recipe still came out great. Based on the other reviews, I turned the heat down to 350 when I put the chicken in and I think that kept it tender and moist. Next time I will leave the potatoes in longer to crisp them some and will cut down on the butter. But it's a great recipe and has definitely made it into our rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Pleasantly surprised. After reading the ingredients, I wasn't sure about this but gave it a go because of good ratings. The only thing I did differently was cooked the potatoes for 15 min instead of 10 and sprinkled them with chili powder, salt and pepper. As for the chicken, I seasoned them with salt, pepper and garlic powder and just before serving, I squeezed fresh lime juice over the top. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was my 1st time cooking w/o the grill or a microwave for my girlfriend and hard to please father. Not only was it easy for me, my dad actually complimented the meal... That's amazing! XLNT taste!!! I am eager to try more of your recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASEYnTAMPA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Great recipe! The potatoes were especially a big hit! Have made this several times since. Followed the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I was kind of disappointed with this recipe. It tasted much better after adding about a whole lime's worth of lime juice before eating (instead of just garnished lime wedges).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Greek Lemon Chicken and Potatoes

This simple and inexpensive recipe is a proven crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States