Monterey Chicken with Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This was pretty good, but I had to do ALOT of modifying. The potatoes were practically raw after the short time in the oven, so I ended up cooking those for much longer then was stated. I marinated the chicken in lime juice and a mexican chili marinade to give it some flavor. I also seasoned the potatoes ahead of time with seasoned salt, pepper, garlic powder, lime juice, cilantro and red pepper flakes to give them some flavor. Overall, a good base recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Rating on chicken only....I was fixing potatoes a different way. The chicken was awesome and moist! wouldn't change a thing! Kids and hubby gobbled it up! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This was tasty. Nothing gourmet here, but my picky one asked for seconds. I would cut the butter in half. My daughter was making cookies so I used what she had left. I left the oven temp at 425 and my chicken was NOT dry. I will make this again. It is easy and I always have all the ingredients in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This could be a great recipe with a few adjustments. The butter needs to be cut waaaaay back. At the end, the dish was swimming in butter (and I had used approximately 1/3 cup only, not the 1/2 as in the recipe). The potatoes need to cook alone a little longer, maybe 15 minutes. I'll add more lime juice next time. I will make this again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I used Idaho potatoes (didn't have red), dried cilantro (didn't have fresh), and bottled lime juice and this recipe still came out great. Based on the other reviews, I turned the heat down to 350 when I put the chicken in and I think that kept it tender and moist. Next time I will leave the potatoes in longer to crisp them some and will cut down on the butter. But it's a great recipe and has definitely made it into our rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Pleasantly surprised. After reading the ingredients, I wasn't sure about this but gave it a go because of good ratings. The only thing I did differently was cooked the potatoes for 15 min instead of 10 and sprinkled them with chili powder, salt and pepper. As for the chicken, I seasoned them with salt, pepper and garlic powder and just before serving, I squeezed fresh lime juice over the top. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was my 1st time cooking w/o the grill or a microwave for my girlfriend and hard to please father. Not only was it easy for me, my dad actually complimented the meal... That's amazing! XLNT taste!!! I am eager to try more of your recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASEYnTAMPA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Great recipe! The potatoes were especially a big hit! Have made this several times since. Followed the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I was kind of disappointed with this recipe. It tasted much better after adding about a whole lime's worth of lime juice before eating (instead of just garnished lime wedges).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This has become one of my family's favorite meals. We all love it. Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States