Monterey Chicken with Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
The taste was wonderful, especially after adding salt, pepper, and a little chili powder. The times, however, are off. Using others' suggestions, I doubled the time for the potatoes before adding the chicken, and they still were not done. I ended up removing the chicken from the pan because it was becoming overdone, then letting the potatoes cook another 5 or 10 minutes. The only other change I made was sliced some green, red, and yellow bellpepper (I really like vegetables and wanted to add a little nutrition content) and added it to the pan at the same time as the chicken. I will have to try this again with time adjustments, and next time might roll it up in tortillas and eat it like a burrito
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cut Off, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Excellent. We can't get cilantro here, but I'll bet it would be even better with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ignorealltherest

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
My husband and I loved this. I fried the potatoes before putting them in the oven to crisp them up. Also marinated the chicken beforehand. Wonderful and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rossford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
The family loved it.. next time I will cut back on the butter and just use a little olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
So good my husband called me to tell me it was amazing. Only changes: added 1/2 c salsa and 1/2 c cheeses to original recipe and then drizzled an extra tablespoon of lime over everything. Flipped chicken halfway through cook time and basted again. Definitely a keeper, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This will be a keeper in my recipe book. I pulled out my chicken to thaw. While it was thawing I topped with some salsa and lime juice like some had said. I cooked my potatoes a bit longer then suggested. I thought it was easy to make and tasted great. Very fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cantrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This was a very good and easy to make dish! I did add sea salt and ground pepper to the potatoes along with the butter. I added the salsa/cheese mixture sooner to the chicken and potatoes for added time and extra flavor. Next time I will add some zing with some japs or pepper flakes/spices and make it spicy for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This dish was amazing! I took the advice from some of the other reviews. I added salt and pepper to the potatoes for more flavor. I also used chickn stock to give the chicken and potatoes more flavor. The chicken stock also made the dish super juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
my mom makes this quite often, and i love anything with cilantro because of this. it is a great dinner for anybody. i mean, who doesnt love cheesy chicken and potatoes? i like this so much, i even asked my mom to make it for me on my birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This was pretty good, but I had to do ALOT of modifying. The potatoes were practically raw after the short time in the oven, so I ended up cooking those for much longer then was stated. I marinated the chicken in lime juice and a mexican chili marinade to give it some flavor. I also seasoned the potatoes ahead of time with seasoned salt, pepper, garlic powder, lime juice, cilantro and red pepper flakes to give them some flavor. Overall, a good base recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States