Monterey Chicken with Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Four stars for taste and five stars for easy and fast! I had all the ingredients on hand (except the chicken) an threw this together for an excellent weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
My boyfriend and I have a "dish of the week" competition. We each cook a new dish on our days off and this one won hands down. The only down side was that he made it and got the credit. I would not change anything - This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This was super easy and turned out way tastier than I had expected. The chicken did need to bake for about 20 extra minutes and I think next time I will try the suggestions of marinating the chicken in lime juice. The potatoes were super yum. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Loved the combination of flavors. Will be making this repeatedly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Yummy and easy! Even super picky boyfriend had no complaints, will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This a tasty, quick, throw together dinner. I did change a few things with the way I did mine. I cut my potatoes into quarters and ended up using 8. I used 3 breasts that I cut into 1 inch pieces. Sprinkled the potatoes with a tsp of chili powder. Used half butter and half olive oil and added 2T lime juice, 1 tsp garlic powder, S&P to taste to the mixture BEFORE tossing a couple of Tbs of the mixture with the potatoes. Poured remaining butter/olive oil mixture of chicken (the mixture starts to thicken because of the cold chicken, but that's ok since it melts as soon as you add to the potatoes later on)and let it sit for about 25 minutes while the potatoes roasted at 425. Tossed the chicken and all of the butter/olive oil mixture with the potatoes and added about 6 chopped pickled jalapeno slices and continued cooking about 15-20 minutes. Added the cheese/salasa/cilantro (didn't have fresh used about a Tbs of dried) to the top. baked another 5 minutes just to melt and brown the cheese. If you notice you have a lot of liquid in the pan from the chicken (this happened the first time when I used frozen breasts that I allowed to thaw) just turn the heat up to 450 for a few minutes before adding the cheese. The liquid starts to evaporate. We eat this at least a couple of times a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I followed recipe (except I did marinate chicken in lime & salsa) and it turned out WONDERFUL. YUM. This will be added into our regular rotation. It was much easier than I even expected it to be. Be sure and cube the potatoes small or they won't cook in the time frame stated. Mine were about 1" (or less) cubes and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This is very good, great for a weeknight meal. I think I used about 2 pounds of red potatoes, and only 2 chicken breasts (it was just me and my 2 year old). I needed more time to cook the potatoes since I had way more than called for, but the time for the chicken worked really well. I also didn't use the butter but simply tossed the potatoes with olive oil, salt and pepper. Very good, I can't wait to finish the leftovers tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I also marinated the chicken in the salsa. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This is amazing--my fiancee is always asking me to make this for supper! This is a dish we will be making when we have guests over for special occasions. I read a lot of the reviews and I too marinate the chicken in salsa, cilantro, and lime juice before cooking it--it gives the chicken a really great flavor. The potatoes are amazing...I like making a little more than the recipe calls for because I think they almost taste better as left overs the next day! I always says I'm going to measure everything out, but in the end I always end up adding a little more salsa, cilantro, and cheese than the recipe calls for just because we love the extra flavor it provides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Greek Lemon Chicken and Potatoes

This simple and inexpensive recipe is a proven crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States