Monterey Chicken with Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Oh so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I know everyone hates when people give less stars when they changed the recipe, so I am giving it 5 stars even though I did make some changes. It was delicious, and it doesn't have to be so unhealthy, either. Here's what I did differently. I used about a pound of yukon gold potatoes, tossed them with 1 tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil, about 1/2 teaspoon of cumin, and 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt. Then added about 3 tablespoons of chopped fresh cilantro. I followed the baking directions, then added the chicken breasts, about 1 pound total, each breast half sliced in half again so they were thin. I melted 1 tablespoon of butter, added about 2 tablespoons of cilantro, and squeezed half a lime in. This I brushed on the chicken. Baked again. Took it all out, poured 1/4 cup salsa over the chicken (cherry salsa, yum!), then topped with about 1/4 cup of cheese...it doesn't need much because everything else makes it so good! With those changes it comes out to about 340 calories per serving (of 4) which is much better than the original. Perfect, easy and fast to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkionwine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Delicious and so easy! I used about 1/4c of butter and for the cilantro, I used Mexican cilantro pesto (from allrecipes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coffeybunny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Made the dish as posted with some salt and peper as mentioned and a little more cheese. Should have cooked the potatoes longer before adding chicken. They just didn't seemed cooked enough for me. Other than that, everyone loved the dish. Next time I might marinate the chicken in some salsa, lime and cilantro beforehand (didn't have time tonight), would be great with the flavors infused in the chicken rather than just on top. But a wonderful quick dish that will be in the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mocamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
6/11 very good. i marinated the chicken in fresh lime juice and 1/4 cup salsa. I put marinade in the dish with the ckn to cook, didn't take long. when it was not pink, i added the salsa, cheese combo...didnt have cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This is a great go to meal when you are pushed for time. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
*EXCELLENT* recipe! Our whole family loved it! The lime juice made the dish! I took one reviewer's tip and marinated the chicken in lime juice & salsa before baking. Also, I was low on salsa, so I mixed what I had with a can of diced tomatoes; it still turned out great! I could write a thank-you note to the recipe poster for the foil-in-dish instruction! Clean up was a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I liked this a lot...in fact, I changed my supper plans for tonight when I saw the recipe on the Buzz. I made it *almost* exactly, except I used fingerling potatoes and cooked them with a mix of bueer and olive oil at 425, then dropped the temp to 375 when added the chicken and finished cooking. I also salted everything when I added the lime and butter (cut drastically). My chicken was butterflied, so it only took about 15 minutes to cook before I added the salsa/cheese/cilantro mixture. I'll definitely make this again and I'm using the leftover potatoes (chicken is all gone) with eggs to make breakfast burritos. Thanks for a recipe that really sings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Love it! Our whole family loved this. Omitted the potatoes due to a low carb diet and it is definitely going to become a go to recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Wasn't bad but it didn't knock my socks off either. I was expecting a nice boom of flavor but that didn't happen. I will try making it again but I will substitute half of the Mexican cheese blend with Mild Mexican flavored Velveeta. I think it will make a creamer, more flavorful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States