Monterey Chicken Tortilla Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I added Black Beans (drained) and topped with a little sour cream and Tabasco (on my serving).. THIS WAS GREAT (just needs a new title)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Fixed this tonite. It was very easy and quick. We did use a one quart baking dish and it was full to almost running over. It did settle just a litte bit during baking. Anyway, we used sour cream along with the tortilla chips. It was habit forming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea CA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I have made this recipe twice now and absolutely love it. I use one pound boneless, skinless chicken breast cut into bite size pieces. I added 1-15 ounce can black beans, I use one cup cheddar cheese and I added one green onion chopped up. These are the only changes I have made to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea CA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I'm giving this 5 stars because it is really good and so simple to make! I made it exactly like the recipe, except I used chicken and left off the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I had found this recipe in a local newspaper and made it. In that recipe, it called for either 2 cups turkey or chicken otherwise is the same as this recipe. I made this for a quick meal for company. I didn't have a casserole dish so baked in a 8X8 aluminum pan for 30 minutes. Added some cumin spice to jazz it up a little. Also added more cheese -- probably closer to a cup. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I used ground beef because it was the only thing in the house. All the other ingredients are something I keep on hand which made this a fast, economical dinner, using stuff already in my pantry. My kids didn't care for the cooked olives, I will put them on after baking next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This recipe very easy and convenient having all the ingredients on hand. Changes I made were adding a small can of mild chopped green chiles and a layer of cheese on top of the chicken layer along with more cheddar cheese on the top. The cream corn was good but made the casserole not set up as good as I would like. Next time I will use either frozen roasted corn kernels, or a small can of corn drained. I think the picante sauce gives this casserole plenty of moisture and makes it to be more flavorful. I would suggest a light coating of canola sprayed on the bottom of the casserole dish to keep the tortilla chips from sticking. My husband enjoyed this casserole very much and we will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rann1950

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cashmere, Washington, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Four and a half stars! I really like this little recipe with its Tex-Mex flavor - and so easy to put together! The picante sauce gives it a nice kick, too. I lightly sprinkled salt over the creamed corn layer to cut down on its sweetness, and put 3/4 cup cheese on top. Other than that, no changes, and it was yummy! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This recipe looked like the sort of dish my family loves so I doubled it in order to have leftovers for lunches. In my opinion the corn added an overpowering sweetness to a dish I would have expected to be spicy/savory. I don't use cream-style corn often and had forgotten how sweet it is. I followed the recipe exactly as written, so I'm not downgrading this recipe because of any changes I made (I hate it when reviewers do that!). Possibly substituting with regular corn, or using less of the canned corn, would allow the other flavors to be experienced. For those who like sweeter main dishes, this would probably be a fine recipe, but it didn't work for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busybee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States