Monte Cristo Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
A terrific sandwich, however, as written, I would have to have this for breakfast due to the nutmeg and cinnamon. Some people even sprinkle the sandwich with powdered sugar. I prefer this as a lunch, so I season my beaten egg with garlic and onion powder and some pepper. I also cut way back on the amount of swiss cheese stated. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
these sandwiches were very good, but they might have been better with a different kind of bread... the french bread took a long time to cook & didn't cook very well on the inside. Other recipes for Monte Cristo sandwiches use white or wheat bread. Otherwise they were great. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
MMMmmm an amazing Monte Cristo it did make, I got rave reviews with it from my breakfast guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I THOUGHT THIS WAS JUST OKAY. I USED WHITE BREAD INSTEAD OF THE FRENCH BREAD. PLUS THERE WAS WAY TOO MUCH CHEESE ON THE SANDWICH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
These were very good...I made them more like a grilled cheese sandwich after reading the reviews. I will definately be making again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
Made the recipe like it says. I didn't like the french toast part. Although I think that it might be better if it was made more like a grilled cheese sand. Just butter the bread and brown it in the pan before adding the ham, cheese, and turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
Very easy to make. Kids ages (2-4 yrs)loved them! Quick and easy and delicious even to the picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2001
I tried this recipe but we all agreed there is something missing. Wasn't easy to make... messy. And the kids turned their noses at it. I ended up taking off the french toast and "rebreading" the sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
i have fond memories of batter dipped & fried monte cristo sandwiches but like how this one has precooked bread. i used a soft but sturdy italian bread & more cinnamon & nutmeg then what was called for. note: consider using lorraine or alpine lace swiss cheese to trim the calories & sodium level. many thanks susie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
yummy! I used Challah Bread which is great for French Toast and it soaked up the egg mixture perfectly! Otherwise, I made the recipe as written. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States