Monte Cristo Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Sounded sketchy at first but I was sick of the same old lunch-time sandwiches. This turned out really good. My husband liked it more than I did. He pronounced it "FantAstic!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I made them for breakfast for the fam. everybody really liked them, they are even better with thick bread and powdered sugar, I will so make these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Some_Kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
i have fond memories of batter dipped & fried monte cristo sandwiches but like how this one has precooked bread. i used a soft but sturdy italian bread & more cinnamon & nutmeg then what was called for. note: consider using lorraine or alpine lace swiss cheese to trim the calories & sodium level. many thanks susie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Really, really good. It is a filling, change-of-pace sandwich. I followed the recipe exactly and really liked the cinnamon and nutmeg (as did the people I served it to). In addition, I made a dipping sauce from choke cherry jam, and that was a nice complement to the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
These were yummy. I used white bread instead of french. I also only used 2 pieces of cheese per sandwich. I had leftover turkey breast, so this was the perfect way to use it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
MMMmmm an amazing Monte Cristo it did make, I got rave reviews with it from my breakfast guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
These were very good...I made them more like a grilled cheese sandwich after reading the reviews. I will definately be making again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I THOUGHT THIS WAS JUST OKAY. I USED WHITE BREAD INSTEAD OF THE FRENCH BREAD. PLUS THERE WAS WAY TOO MUCH CHEESE ON THE SANDWICH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
A terrific sandwich, however, as written, I would have to have this for breakfast due to the nutmeg and cinnamon. Some people even sprinkle the sandwich with powdered sugar. I prefer this as a lunch, so I season my beaten egg with garlic and onion powder and some pepper. I also cut way back on the amount of swiss cheese stated. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
these sandwiches were very good, but they might have been better with a different kind of bread... the french bread took a long time to cook & didn't cook very well on the inside. Other recipes for Monte Cristo sandwiches use white or wheat bread. Otherwise they were great. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States