Monte Cristo Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I am not a fan of adding nutmeg and cinnamon to the egg mixture. I like a monte cristo sandwich not a french toast sandwich but the rest of the ingredients in this recipe are spot on. I also prefer to just dip the assembled sandwiches in the egg mixture and cook. You just have to keep the heat at medium so that the bread cooks slow enough to cook all the way through and to melt the cheese and heat the meats. Sprinkle finished sandwiches with powdered sugar and serve with strawberry jam for dipping and it's just like the restaurants serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
These have been a hit with my family forever. Changing up the cheese and meats to our liking at the moment or what we have on hand is always great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Radarslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I tried this recipe because it didn't call for deep frying. It was pretty good. I did use wheat bread instead of French bread. I just thought it tasted kind of eggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cardenas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This sandwich made for a very quick,easy and yummy weeknight dinner. I have read the different recipes for this sandwich and i chose this one as it is the style I am familiar with from local restaurants. I only used one slice of swiss per sandwich and dipped in warm maple syrup. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
A good recipe but I've made better M.C. Sandwiches. I prefer the sandwich assembled then soaked and fried. I liked the chopped smoked turkey and honey ham combination instead of sliced ham and turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Very good. I think the trick to this sandwich is finding the bread that you like. I also added a little vanilla to the egg mixture. We were out of swiss cheese, so I used a combination of sharp aged white cheddar and mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Very good! I followed the suggestion above and substituted garlic & herb Mrs. Dash for the cinnamon & nutmeg. I also cut down on the cheese and might cut it further next time. Super easy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Sorry. I thought this would be great, but it was just another sandwich. Kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This one was a huge hit with the kids. They couldn't eat the whole thing, but they raved about it. I followed the recipe exactly. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This was good I would recommend using honey ham...I dipped each bread in as I would be make french toast then cooked one side flipped and then added ham turkey cheese and made into and sandwich and finished cooking it that way rather than dipping the whole sandwich in the egg mixture....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States