Monte Cristo Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
i love this recipe. My husband has an obsesion with monte cristo sandwiches and they have to be just right...this one was exactly what he wanted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
So far this is the Monte Cristo Sandwich that we like the best. There are several to choose from this site. The only thing I did differently was to use a high moisture, fresh mozzerella cheese instead of the shredded. I also cut down a bit on the nutmeg. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This is VERY good - just the right blend of sweet and spicy. I used smoked deli turkey for the meat, and served it with a dusting of powdered sugar. Highly recommended - my husband and son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Moothart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: La Habra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was great. It's not quite like Bennigan's but we don't have a bennigans anymore and this'll do. PLUS it's much healthier than bennigans. I did have to change it a tiny bit because of what I had on hand. I used sliced honey turkey breast, provolone cheese, which I think was better than swiss and I used cranberry chutney for dipping. I was very disappointed when I didn't have raspberry preserves but after tasting the cranberry with it, I'll never go back. It complimented the sandwich well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
These were good, but I was hoping for a recipe similar to the way restaurants make them where they're completely encased in some kind of batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
All the family agreed this is a good sandwich. I would add more cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
These sandwiches were very very good. I did make a couple of ingredient substitutions for what I had on hand- used boneless chicken thighs and sliced provolone cheese. Followed the rest of the recipes exactly as written and I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Canandaigua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
According to my husband, who is a very picky eater, this was, "Awesome". Instead of chicken I used turkey and ham. Everything else stayed the same. Was very good. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Did not really like this but it was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I am very picky about Monte Cristos and after substituting Swiss for the other cheeses and sprinkling powdered sugar on the finished sandwich, it was awesome. I dip the bread in the egg mixture, put it on the griddle, then make the sandwich. I dip the other piece of bread and put it on top (dipped side up). Super easy!! Also, I don't use much honey mustard since it overpowers the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States