Monte Cristo Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Really tasty! I made mine with black forest ham, american cheese and shredded mozarella/provolone, and used Dijon mustard because I didnt have honey mustard. I did make one with sourdough, and one with whole wheat bread, and the sourdough is definitely the way to go. It soaks up the egg/milk batter, and yet retains its firmness, for a great tasting sandwich. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baghdad Dave
Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
These were good - used slices of fresh mozzarella instead of the shredded which I would definitely recommend. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This is a great sandwich! Tasty and easy on the budget for lunch as well. I dipped the sandwiches lightly in flour before I "egged it". Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
These were good, but I was hoping for a recipe similar to the way restaurants make them where they're completely encased in some kind of batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
So YUMMY!!! followed the recipe and they came out wonderful, the nutmeg adds a really nice touch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashadybarlink

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was great. It's not quite like Bennigan's but we don't have a bennigans anymore and this'll do. PLUS it's much healthier than bennigans. I did have to change it a tiny bit because of what I had on hand. I used sliced honey turkey breast, provolone cheese, which I think was better than swiss and I used cranberry chutney for dipping. I was very disappointed when I didn't have raspberry preserves but after tasting the cranberry with it, I'll never go back. It complimented the sandwich well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Some Friends and I made these, and they turned out very tasty. Good for a light meal and full of flavor. Plus the cook time is very fast which is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I've had the most FABULOUS Monte Christo sandwiches in restaurants. These were OK. I think you really need a deep fryer so you can deep fry these to get the best results. I used my George Foreman grill with mediocre results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
wonderful recipe! Simple, quick, and loved by the whole family. I served it with a cup of strawberry jam (all I had on hand) and dusted the sandwich with powdered sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
These were delicious and a nice change from the average dinner. Will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States