Monte Cristo Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Delicous for todays lunch! Used up some of my m-i-l's babka. A little dijon mustard and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I think this taste like the bennigans Monte Cristo, without as much breading (which I prefered), plus it isn't all greasy. We have seven in our family, so by the end of making these, I figured out why some were soggy. I used a pie pan for the liquids, and a slotted metal spatula. Build the sandwich, then place in the liquid, QUICKLY scoop flip and quickly remove allowing the excess to drip off. The sandwich shouldn't stay in the liquid for more than half a sec or else it gets soggy. I used sourdough bread of a regular thickness, and munster cheese, because my family doesn't like swiss. I didn't use mayo or mustard, but powdered sugar over top and seedless raspberry jam for dipping are a MUST-yummy. I also failed to mention that I used leftover ham fro or baked hame from easter- a great way to use leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLEKALGREN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Very tasty and quick to make. Served with green salad and fruit kabobs, it made a great casual meal. Made some with veggie "ham" because I am vegetarian, and they were good too. Although I cooked them for the length of time indicated, they weren't as crisp as I hoped. Maybe I' try lower heat for even longer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Everywhere that I have eaten a Monte Cristo, the sandwich has always been deep-fried. This recipe is a nice alternative, and the sandwiches are still just as good with a side of jam. I also experimented with using another meat and cheese combination; smoked turkey and cheddar worked well. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naxxramas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Sprinkle powdered sugar on top for an interesting combination. Always use a non-stick or teflon pan. The egg/milk mixture sticks horribly to plain old frying pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
this was good.for some reason we could not get the soggyness out of the middle of the bread using the egg no matter how low we had the fire on the stove,so we buttered the outside of the bread and cooked on low until brown like you do grilled cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Nobody liked it. The bread was soggy and the meats and cheese were still cold. I followed the recipe, but after reading reviews maybe I should have cooked it slower. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LATEFORDINNER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I never had a monte cristo until I fixed these. It was a cross between grilled sandwich and french toast. I used sandwich spread instead of mustard/mayo because my hubby likes SS. He said they were "very good". Not bad for a first try. Simple and different from the usual hot ham and cheese sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by Dave W.
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Not a recipe for someone on a diet, but delicious and filling. I used thick-sliced bread, and fried in a couple of pats of butter in a skillet pre-heated to 375°, for about 5 minutes on each side. Served hot with a little maple syrup drizzled over it. Note: there's enough egg-milk mixture here to coat at least three sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States