Monte Cristo Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
this was good.for some reason we could not get the soggyness out of the middle of the bread using the egg no matter how low we had the fire on the stove,so we buttered the outside of the bread and cooked on low until brown like you do grilled cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Nobody liked it. The bread was soggy and the meats and cheese were still cold. I followed the recipe, but after reading reviews maybe I should have cooked it slower. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LATEFORDINNER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I never had a monte cristo until I fixed these. It was a cross between grilled sandwich and french toast. I used sandwich spread instead of mustard/mayo because my hubby likes SS. He said they were "very good". Not bad for a first try. Simple and different from the usual hot ham and cheese sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by Dave W.
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Not a recipe for someone on a diet, but delicious and filling. I used thick-sliced bread, and fried in a couple of pats of butter in a skillet pre-heated to 375°, for about 5 minutes on each side. Served hot with a little maple syrup drizzled over it. Note: there's enough egg-milk mixture here to coat at least three sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
Both me and my husband like this. Pretty much a souped up Grill Cheese Sandwhich. I bet it would tast just as good not with out dipping it in the egg and milk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This is a family favorite. I worked 2nd shift and made a bunch of them and put them on a cookie sheets so that they could warm them up right before they ate them. There were none left for me when I got home from work! I think the problem that people were having with them being soggy is because they were trying to cook them too quickly. It is basically french toast. If you cooked french toast at too high a temp it would also be browned to fast and soggy. Turn your heat down and cook them slower. The cheese meltinf should make them stay together. This is a great treat that you can make ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
A little too rich for my tastes. Maybe if I omit the mayo next time. A good recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
This is the Monte Cristo sandwich I know. Only thing I do differently is skip the mayo and mustard but pour maple syrup over the sandwich before serving. Might sound strange, but the saltiness of the ham and cheese and sweetness of the syrup go really well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Keene, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Very good, I used French bread (thick slices) layered the sandwich with good quality deli ham and turkey, dipped it into the egg mixture only enough to coat the surface then grilled on medium heat. Turned out great with no soggy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States