Monte Cristo Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I'm from Baltimore, MD and the way we've always made them is without the mayo/mustard, heavy on the egg so it is really battered, cut into triangles, and served with Warm Real Maple Syrup for dipping. It is SO good like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
when i followed the recipe the batter was not very think but i like it better that way. i switch this recipe up alot and used various meats and cheeses and its always good. i also use raspberry preserves to dip it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kk_mcqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I would not make this again - too heavy tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Mine came out soggy on the inside. Not sure why, but maybe it was the light mayo, even though I used only a little. Will try with mustard only next time. I have had this sandwich in a restaurant and mine did not turn out nearly that well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Nice and quick. I substituted medium cheddar because that's what I had and my daughter prefers it to Swiss. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I haven't had a Monte Cristo for years. The one other time I tried making one it seemed it was just a huge mess. I don't know if this one is just less messy, or if I just handled it better. I now have a flexible spatula that made this much easier. I dipped the one side, carefully put it in the pan and let it cook long enough to firm up. Then was easily able to get my flexible spatula under it, carefully turned it over, then dipped the other side and put it back in the pan. This kept it from getting soggy on the second side before I had a chance to cook it. (I also think medium is too high.) It stayed neat and looked very pretty when done. I will say I think I prefer broiling or grilling over the "French toast" approach. It tasted like ham n swiss, but the texture of the bite was like French toast. I would not have wanted a thicker dip. (Speaking of which, the egg wash is enough for 2-3 of these sandwiches.) And no conf sugar here - why does a *sandwich* need to be sweet?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Very good! The use of Djon was new to me but I figured I give it a try and was very pleased. My family begged for these to be made the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boss3021979

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
These are incredibly good ~ a teensy bit southern style, not quite so French (lite), but so yummy. My family ate them up, and I made triple the recipe :) Thanks so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
My husband thought I was nuts when I served this to him (the powedered sugar on top completely threw him off!). But one bite and he was asking for more! Delicious!! Cooked slowly on medium heat so that it browned nicely, cheese melted and no soggy bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Really good, just what I was looking for, a few changes due to what I had on hand, used hearty rye bread and capicola instead of ham. Probably only use about 1/4 cup of half & half instead of 1/2 cup milk. Of course did not dust with powdered sugar or serve with jam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States