Monte Cristo Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
tradtional monte cristo are deep fried in a much thicker batter. I personally havent made this person recipe cause i have my own version of doing it. I used thick egg bread like Challah or a Brioche bread that can hold the batter. I use whole-berry cranberry sauce on the inside of the bread ham turkey swiss of course and a few slices of good applewood bacon. You can also experiment with a different chesse.... but my batter is made from 1/2 & 1/2 (1/4 cup) and eggs(4 large) to your batter add a dash of nutmeg and black pepper and cook it as if you are cooking fench toast but in a sandwich form.... Plate it with some warm maple syrup for dunking!!! I hope this info helps some1...enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doughboi

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This is my all time favorite sandwich with the thicker batter....I use a thin pancake batter and please, please don't use deli meats. Use the real thing! Leftover roast turkey and left over baked ham. What's this with a thinner sliced deli ham??????? NOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
The something missing may be the orange marmalade that is usually served with it. MMMMMM-GOOD! Next time I will leave the mayo and mustard off though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Have made these for years...but do not use nearly the milk called for, just a dollop. Try cutting these into quarters diagonally and serving as finger food appetizers. I've made several times for a Retirement home and the residents (and I) loved them. You can also put thin slices of dill pickle on them or tomato slices for a bit of moisture...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I added a taplespoon of flour to the egg mixture, turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Really yummy and simple to make! My husband loved that I chose a quick dinner that turned out so delish! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gianna Rose Allen
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I have been looking for a traditional Monte Cristo Sandwich to make my husband and his said he liked this sandwich very much. Next time he said not to put any powdered sugar on it, it didn't need it. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gianna Rose Allen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is the first time I ever made this type of sandwich and I can honestly say it was good. The only thing I used different was the cheese which was american because its the only one I had but it still came out good with a side of jeely on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I forgot the mayonnaise and mustard and these were delicious. I probably will make them just the same next time. We used whole-wheat bread for some and raisin-cinnamon bread for others, and both were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I made this for lunch today using smoked turkey and baby swiss cheese - no ham. Used dijon mustard for a little extra kick...dipping in strawberry preserves and sprinkling with a small amount of confectioner's sugar made for lots of savory and sweet tastes! Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Monte Cristo

Make this classic fried ham, turkey, and cheese sandwich in three easy steps.

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States